Gramma Bertha's Banana Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
I've got to say, I was really looking forward to eating this cake. To say it is rich is a understatement because it is also very dense. This is more like a bread than cake. It was too sweet for most of us with icing (it was a birthday cake), but a few of us were able to eat a big piece of it. If you are looking for a moist, less dense (more cake-like) banana cake then this is not your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
This was SO delicious and fool-proof! I only made a small substitution because I didn't have enough sour cream. I had about 2/3 c. so I soured some milk (1/2 c milk w/ about 1T vinegar, sit 5 minutes) and poured that into my cup with sour cream to bring it to one cup and then threw in 1 T of room temp butter. (Found that substitution online.) Because I thought maybe I'd be a little too liquidy I tossed it maybe an extra Tablespoon or two of flour. I also added a little vanilla because I love vanilla - I'm really doubtful it was necessary! I'm not the greatest baker so I love recipes that are easy - I used a hand mixer for all steps (recipes that require specific handling are sometime out of my league, LOL). I baked in a (large) convection toaster oven at 325 - 55 minutes later the toothpick was clean all around the cake. I let it cool as instructed and worried when it didn't come out of the pan right away after the 10 minutes in the pan but after a couple of "knocks" it fell out, still in perfect shape. I served it to company so I was glad it didn't fall to pieces! (But still would have served it after tasting it - who cares how it looks - it was AMAZING!) I didn't put any frosting or even powdered sugar on it as other reviewers said it didn't need anything and it was perfect. SO, SO, SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Would have been a true 4 star if I had NOT cut the sugar by 1/2 c
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eureka, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Loved it.... Baked as directed. Then I added a tsp on cinnamon.... Omg. This is awesome people. Moist sweet really no need for a sugary icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
I'd give this 4 1/2 stars if I could. Almost 5 because it is really easy, quick, and almost fool proof. Not 5 stars because I had to make changes to my personal liking. For one I took advice and only added 1c sugar (however I then understood why people said it was a bit bland) I added 1tea of vanilla. Also one big thing I did wrong or changed by accident, I totally forgot to add the 1 c of plain yogurt I was putting in place of 1c of sour cream. I used 4 pretty large bananas and the cake was pretty moist, in fact I don't know if it would have cooked well with the 4 bananas and the cup of yogurt. It was still vey good without it. I added about 3/4cup of walnuts also. I might try brown sugar or some honey in it next time. I will definitely use this recipe as a base to use up my overripe bananas. Thanks for the good easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
I thought yeah this is just another banana bread without the nuts, but wow I was wrong, it is wonderful and not a bread but a moist sweet cake. I didn't slice the bananas I diced them and left some nice big chucks, you knew you were eating a banana cake. I added a teaspoon of vanilla flavor gave it a kick. I LOVE IT !!! p.s. Next time I may add walnuts :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
This is a very true "cake" -- did not cross into banana bread territory at all. I had VERY ripe and sweet bananas, and I still used the full amount of sugar and I think that was a good call. The sweetness really makes it a proper cake. My bananas were also so ripe that they didn't really slice so much as mash themselves as I mixed the batter. As I was baking mine, we had a power outage, so it had a bit of a rough baking experience but still managed to come out perfectly done and still a bit fluffy. I'm sure baking it properly would result in an even fluffier cake, though, as I took about a minute after adding all the eggs to beat the mixture until it got really fluffy. I ended up using some leftover frosting from a layer cake on this, but I put the frosting (straight from the fridge) on the still-warm cake and once it softened a bit I spread it out more evenly. The heat from the cake make it drip down the sides and it looked very pretty; I added some rainbow sprinkles just before the icing started to harden up. I think this would be a good recipe to use for a layer cake as well -- will definitely try that next! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I made this cake last week, it was really light and fluffy and the banana taste was good , I took Sarah Jo's advice and added the salt and BP .Thank you Gramma Bertha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Oh my gosh!... This cake barely made it into the oven because the batter was sooo delicious. Its baking right now. Hopefully i wont burn it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
This cake is awesome. It is the best banana cake I have made. I needed to use up ripening bananas so,I made this recipe exactly as written and put in in the freezer. I served it to 10 people and received many compliments and several requested the recipe. I did not frost it but some enjoyed it with a scoop of ice cream. I will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Caterpillar Cake

Make a fun caterpillar cake using just an everyday bundt cake pan!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States