Grama's Peppery Parsnips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Oh so absolutely yummy! I've fixed these several times now, and have tweaked it a bit in technique. I slice the parsnips into coins, and I microwave them until they are still slightly firm. Then I prepare them as directed in the recipe. Large batches don't allow for a single layer, but they caramelize just the same - just takes a bit longer. Red pepper has been added on occasion, which works well with the flavor as well. A keeper recipe – thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This is the only way my mom fixed parsnips when I was growing up. Browning in butter caramelizes the natural sugars in the parsnips. Loved them then; love them now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
I love this receipe and my kids love it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Great way to prepare parsnips. However, I find it unnecessary to boil first. I cut them into slim French fry size pieces, and they cook up fine in a combo of olive oil and butter. Takes maybe 12 to 15 minutes. A few will get very dark brown, but this is delicious, and when I make them I try to make sure that some are getting dark brown. Some thyme leaves are a good addition. This is a superb way to fix parsnips and a good way to start cycling potatoes out of the menu rotation. Great with fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Never had parsnips before...well, knowingly anyway. 1st attempt, took reviewer's advice & cut the parsnips into coins & microwaved them before frying. I overcooked them & they were too mushy to crisp up in the frying pan. Yuk! But totally MY fault. I decided to give it another go (after the bad cooking memory faded with the family enough for them to at least TRY them again), this time making sure they were still firm before the fry step. What a difference! Super tasty, carmelized, addictive, and I have redeemed myself from the Great Parsnip Debacle. Now a staple in our regular rotation. Thanks for a great, simple recipe (I somehow managed to mess up) that got us to try a new veggie. (even if it is fried yummy goodness, lol)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Quick, easy and great! I found this recipe while searching the site for a recipe using parsnips and turnips. I followed a tip from a reviewer and microwaved my chopped & peeled parsnips and turnips first. The used Smart Balance to saute them with 2 chopped green onions. Seasoned with salt & pepper, a small splash of lemon juice and about a 1/2 teaspoon of white sugar. My family does not like much sweetness on veggies so I had to make it white sugar and use just a little. I cooked until they were well caramelized. So delicious! DH & I both loved them and all 3 teens ate them up. We had none left. I think I might like to try adding baby carrots sometime. Thanks charisue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
1st time I ever cooked or ate Parsnips... and we liked them a lot. I cooked some mushrooms, onions and carrots with them, just in case it turned out we didn't like the parsnips, but no need... they were delicious on their own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Easy, tasty, and almost as versatile as french fries. Used fresh, coarsely ground garlic pepper seasoning which gave this dish more in-depth flavor. If having one, use a deep skillet to avoid cleaning a saucepan and skillet. A very good recipe for busting out of a rut if feeling limited by serving the same veggie dishes over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I doubled the portion and there were still none left over. Simple and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuLuSRQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Delicious! Had a nice contrast between sweet and peppery. I sauteed some onions in with mine. Would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairmont, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven Grilled Parsnips

See how to make wonderfully caramelized “grilled” parsnips in the oven.

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States