Grama's Peppery Parsnips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I love roasted parsnips and was looking for another way to serve them. This was very good. I threw the strips in a hot pan with half a cup of water and covered the pot until the water evaporated and the parsnips were tender. About 5 minutes or so. Then I added the butter and also some onions as others suggested. I left the pan uncovered as the vegetables caramelized. YUM. The parsnips were so sweet and tasty. Fantastic with my husband's favorite meatloaf. I also learned a lesson about buying parsnips. There was one really big one in the mix and it was too tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Great way to prepare parsnips. However, I find it unnecessary to boil first. I cut them into slim French fry size pieces, and they cook up fine in a combo of olive oil and butter. Takes maybe 12 to 15 minutes. A few will get very dark brown, but this is delicious, and when I make them I try to make sure that some are getting dark brown. Some thyme leaves are a good addition. This is a superb way to fix parsnips and a good way to start cycling potatoes out of the menu rotation. Great with fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I doubled the portion and there were still none left over. Simple and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuLuSRQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
This was a surprise hit! Neither me nor my husband had ever had parsnips this way. Parsnips have now become part of my weekly grocery list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Delicious! Had a nice contrast between sweet and peppery. I sauteed some onions in with mine. Would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairmont, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Very tasty use for parsnips - made me a parsnip fan. It seemed like there's another layer of flavor that could be developed. I'll try adding something additional next time I try this. However, with that said, this recipe is very good without any additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Made a half batch of these... I experimented a bit with various ways of slicing the parsnips. Regardless of whether you slice them into coins or strips, about a half inch cut seems to cook the best. Thinner than that gets a bit overcooked, thicker doesn't quite crisp up as it should. Think of about the size of steak fries, and you should be set. The flavor was good, but not great. Obviously, this is a very simple recipe... and for those that like parsnips on their own, you probably won't be disappointed. I'd suggest something to give it a flavor that you enjoy. Some garlic or onion sauteed with the parsnips, or some smoky mesquite flavor to accompany a steak... This recipe was good, but just feels to me like it is missing something. A little more of some seasoning that you like, and this recipe should work great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Never had parsnips before...well, knowingly anyway. 1st attempt, took reviewer's advice & cut the parsnips into coins & microwaved them before frying. I overcooked them & they were too mushy to crisp up in the frying pan. Yuk! But totally MY fault. I decided to give it another go (after the bad cooking memory faded with the family enough for them to at least TRY them again), this time making sure they were still firm before the fry step. What a difference! Super tasty, carmelized, addictive, and I have redeemed myself from the Great Parsnip Debacle. Now a staple in our regular rotation. Thanks for a great, simple recipe (I somehow managed to mess up) that got us to try a new veggie. (even if it is fried yummy goodness, lol)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Quick, easy and great! I found this recipe while searching the site for a recipe using parsnips and turnips. I followed a tip from a reviewer and microwaved my chopped & peeled parsnips and turnips first. The used Smart Balance to saute them with 2 chopped green onions. Seasoned with salt & pepper, a small splash of lemon juice and about a 1/2 teaspoon of white sugar. My family does not like much sweetness on veggies so I had to make it white sugar and use just a little. I cooked until they were well caramelized. So delicious! DH & I both loved them and all 3 teens ate them up. We had none left. I think I might like to try adding baby carrots sometime. Thanks charisue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
I loved this. So simple, yet so tasty. Good way to change up parsnips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Oven Grilled Parsnips

See how to make wonderfully caramelized “grilled” parsnips in the oven.

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States