Grama's Peppery Parsnips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
I love this receipe and my kids love it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Don't think I will have parsnips any other way now...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
This was a surprise hit! Neither me nor my husband had ever had parsnips this way. Parsnips have now become part of my weekly grocery list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
I loved this. So simple, yet so tasty. Good way to change up parsnips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I doubled the portion and there were still none left over. Simple and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuLuSRQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This is the only way my mom fixed parsnips when I was growing up. Browning in butter caramelizes the natural sugars in the parsnips. Loved them then; love them now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Oh so absolutely yummy! I've fixed these several times now, and have tweaked it a bit in technique. I slice the parsnips into coins, and I microwave them until they are still slightly firm. Then I prepare them as directed in the recipe. Large batches don't allow for a single layer, but they caramelize just the same - just takes a bit longer. Red pepper has been added on occasion, which works well with the flavor as well. A keeper recipe – thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Quick, easy and great! I found this recipe while searching the site for a recipe using parsnips and turnips. I followed a tip from a reviewer and microwaved my chopped & peeled parsnips and turnips first. The used Smart Balance to saute them with 2 chopped green onions. Seasoned with salt & pepper, a small splash of lemon juice and about a 1/2 teaspoon of white sugar. My family does not like much sweetness on veggies so I had to make it white sugar and use just a little. I cooked until they were well caramelized. So delicious! DH & I both loved them and all 3 teens ate them up. We had none left. I think I might like to try adding baby carrots sometime. Thanks charisue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Never had parsnips before...well, knowingly anyway. 1st attempt, took reviewer's advice & cut the parsnips into coins & microwaved them before frying. I overcooked them & they were too mushy to crisp up in the frying pan. Yuk! But totally MY fault. I decided to give it another go (after the bad cooking memory faded with the family enough for them to at least TRY them again), this time making sure they were still firm before the fry step. What a difference! Super tasty, carmelized, addictive, and I have redeemed myself from the Great Parsnip Debacle. Now a staple in our regular rotation. Thanks for a great, simple recipe (I somehow managed to mess up) that got us to try a new veggie. (even if it is fried yummy goodness, lol)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Delicious! Had a nice contrast between sweet and peppery. I sauteed some onions in with mine. Would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairmont, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oven Grilled Parsnips

See how to make wonderfully caramelized “grilled” parsnips in the oven.

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States