Grama's Peppery Parsnips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I love parsnips! This is a quick and delicious way to prepare them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
I struggle with getting my mother to eat vegetables, a 92 y/o is not unlike a toddler. I didn't try these for her just thought they sounded interesting. When she picked up the parsnips like she would a french fry we all just held our breath. She loved them and had seconds as did we all. We will have this often as it is easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
DELICIOUS!!!!!Made this just like the recipe the first night but only used 1/2 of the parsnips as that is a lot for one person. The next day I put the leftover cooked parsnips in the chopper and chopped them us and made cakes out of them (like potato cakes) fried them in butter with salt and pepper and they were also very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Tried and true! I made these almost a year ago for one of my favorite 5 year old kiddos since we had gotten on the topic of root vegetables. He LOVED them as did I! They reminded me of my mom's, which is saying a lot. Her recipes went with her so the "Grama's" title caught my eye, as did the peppery, yum. If you have never had parsnips before, this is the way to try them and get the intended flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Bought a bag of parsnips by accident (was trying to get horseradish roots) and was desperate for a recipe to use them up. So happy I found this! I'll be intentionally buying parsnips from now on! I cut the parsnips into 1/2 inch strips. I followed the recipe with the exception of simmering the parsnips for a shorter period of time -- the were tender after about 5 minutes. While they were on the skillet with butter, in addition to pepper, I added garlic salt and garlic powder. Tasty side dish! They taste like a combination of fries and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Easy and delicious. Thank you Grama!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allyson Thomas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Monmouthshire, Wales, U.K.
Living In: Stittsville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
This was a wonderful side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
1st time I ever cooked or ate Parsnips... and we liked them a lot. I cooked some mushrooms, onions and carrots with them, just in case it turned out we didn't like the parsnips, but no need... they were delicious on their own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Easy, tasty, and almost as versatile as french fries. Used fresh, coarsely ground garlic pepper seasoning which gave this dish more in-depth flavor. If having one, use a deep skillet to avoid cleaning a saucepan and skillet. A very good recipe for busting out of a rut if feeling limited by serving the same veggie dishes over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
This was my first experience with parsnips. They were delicious! I love how the butter flavor came through. Sweet but not too sweet. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Donald, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven Grilled Parsnips

See how to make wonderfully caramelized “grilled” parsnips in the oven.

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States