Grain and Nut Whole Wheat Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Made my buttermilk w 1 cup 2% milk to 1 tablespoon of white vinegar and let it sit 5 minutes. I ended up w an extra half cup of liquid that I didn't need. Great hearty pancakes. I would add about a dozen more chopped pecans. Husband loved me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I have made these pancakes so many times with some alterations (the four stars is before alterations). It's a very flexible recipe, but the one consistent thing I do is to NOT grind the oats, and usually use all soured milk (I wish it was buttermilk, but I never have any, so I just sour the milk with vinegar). These are so perfectly melt in your mouth delicious with a delightful texture from the whole oats, which I think also would resolve the problem people have with them being too heavy and dry. I have subbed banana or butter for the oil (depending on how fat I felt), used white and regular whole wheat flour, subbed pumpkin for some of the liquid, added vanilla and cinnamon/nutmeg/cloves, cut back on the sugar, etc., and these turn out every time. I have had everyone whose eaten them ask for the recipe and it is now their go-to for pancakes. Make these today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
I was looking for a healthier pancake option and I'm so glad to have found this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Fluffy, soft, cake-like texture with a full grainy flavor. Absolutely amazing! The first time I followed the recipe exactly (shocker, right?) and they were fantastic. The second time I substituted coconut sugar and they were still fantastic. For those who don't know, coconut sugar tastes more like caramel (I HATE coconut flavor). It was a wonderful addition if you have some around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
I absolutely love this pancakes. My son has a life threatening allergy to egg so i replaced the egg with a 1/4 cup of soft tofu and it turned out great. Thanks so much for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
The batter is quite runny. They still turned out pretty good. They weren't that fluffy but were quite light for a whole wheat pancake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
These weren't bad but def not as tasty a regular pancake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Qiana Kelsey

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mount Holly, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
My family loved these. I added an extra egg and used applesauce instead of the oil and they were awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
These are pretty good. I did cut the recipe to 4 servings and use a large egg, after reading the reviews. I added some cinnamon, nutmeg and ground flax seed since I didn't have any walnuts. My family enjoyed them and they were definitely more healthy than the standard buttermilk pancakes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
Omg. These were perfect! I followed the recipe exactly and they turned out just as if I went to IHOP. New favorite Sunday breakfast. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 280) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States