Grain and Nut Whole Wheat Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Favorite 'healthy' pancake recipe! Halfed the recipe and still used 1 whole egg. Ground up oats with 1 tblsp almonds and 1 tblsp walnuts. Used skim milk- 1 1/4 cup- and added 1 tblsp apple cider vinegar for buttermilk sub. Also used applesauce in place of oil. Had a really nice fluffy texture, but super filling, and did I mention delicious and nutritious! Made 5 generous sized pancakes (1/2 cup batter per pancake).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
These are my husband's new favorite pancakes. Wish I could have given them a four and a half star rating. I really do feel the batter needed an additional egg as others have stated. These remind me a lot of What A Dish's whole grain waffle recipe that we love so much. Both batters seem to soak up liquid as they set, so it's a good idea for them to be a tad bit on the thin side to begin. I spiced mine up with a teaspoon of cinnamon and added between 1/3 to 1/2 cup of mixed walnuts and pecans. Next time I'll also add a couple tablespoons of flax meal. Thanks Myleen for such a tasty and healthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2011
The pancakes are delicious!!! My daughter loved it as well. It is also more healthy. I used crumbled pecans in mine. This will be my favorite pancakes from now on. Thank you, Myleen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dresher, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
I made this recipe just as it was written and they were very good. My family loved them. I will be making them again I am sure. I will experiment with different spices like cinnamon and nutmeg. This is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Fabulous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
We can't stop making these they taste so great. We do add cinnamon or nutmeg and blueberries or bananas. An easy recipe to "play" with to make tasty changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by johnpsm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
I wanted a recipe that did not use white flour as we are trying to eat more natural and organic foods. Yummy! I did make changes to this recipe as per some of the other reviews. I substituted applesauce for the oil, plain yogurt for the buttermilk, honey for the sugar and I increased the eggs to 2. Didn't have any walnuts so used 1/4 cup whole flax seeds. They were great! Topped them with sliced strawberries and stevia and organic 100% maple syrup. My boys ate them and wanted more! They were really thick and fluffy. Will make these in a large quantity and freeze. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
This gets a five star from my hubby and I. I did use applesauce in place of the oil, 1 cup of buttermilk (made with vinegar) and 3/4 cup of milk. It was skim milk also. 1/2 tsp of cinnamon, less than 1/3 cup of Splenda. I added 3 Tbsp of sunflower seeds. With the oats, I round up 1-1/4 cup and kept the other 1/4 whole, the texture was great. I also used to eggs per some suggestions. This recipe made 10, 5 inch pancakes. I am going to flash freeze them and eat them later...Hope that works. Thanks for this great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Toney, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Amazing pancakes! They really do taste just like IHOP's Harvest Grain! I used to eat a plate of them every week when I was pregnant (hey, at least it was right after prenatal water aerobics!). So happy I can make them whenever I want now! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
These are my favorite pancakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 282) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States