Grain and Nut Whole Wheat Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Only change I made was the vinegar/milk substitution. Came out fantastic, just like IHOP.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
These are great. We don't drink milk so i substituted Almond Milk (used 1.5 Tbs of vinegar to make part of it buttermilk). I also use apple sauce in place of oil and don't put quite 1/3 a cup of sugar (more like 1/4 cup). I add chopped pecans and walnuts, cinnamon, nutmeg, and vanilla. My husband adds chocolate chips to his and i usually add some sort of fruit (banana, blueberries, etc). They are great - so filling and healthy! They're so tasty you don't even need syrup or anything on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
These are so good that I've enthusiastically shared the recipe with family and last year and this year I've mixed the dry ingredients and shared it as a gift at Christmas with a note with the full recipe after it, the nuts (soaked in boiling water a minute,a few times to remove the bitter taste, but not peeled then toasted at 300 for 15-20 minutes) in a separate bag. The note says: With love from our house to yours. ------ and -------- These are our favorite pancakes. We hope they become yours. DIRECTIONS for this mix: Just add 2 eggs, beaten, ¼ cup oil, 1 cup milk AND 1½ cup buttermilk or yogurt or milk + 1 TBSP vinegar to mix. The whole recipe is below for future reference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
These turned out great and so fluffy! I altered the recipe for 2 servings which is a great option if you aren't cooking for 12. It automaticly makes all the adjustments for you. No need to put 3/8 of an egg. I just addded the whole thing and also added 2 Tbsp of groud flax seed to add all of those healthy omega-3s!!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Okay so I made these for the third time today. The first two times I followed the recipe exactly. They were okay but not great. I changed a few things this time and they were perfect. If you are looking for super light and fluffy pancakes you will only get that with white flour. These are great considering they are made with oats and wheat flour. These are the changes I made: I put the walnuts in the blender with the oats because my kids don't like the texture of the nuts in there. I added 1/2 cup of applesauce and only 2 tbsp. of oil. I used the 1.5 cups of buttermilk but I used 1 cup of water in place of the other cup of milk. I used 2 eggs. The most important thing I think is that I made the batter the night before and let it sit in the fridge so the oats and wheat flour had time to absorb the liquid. They are thick and fluffy and not as dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
If I were to rate the original recipe, I have to give it four stars. I used apple sauce instead of oil. They were great! I froze the extra and have enjoyed through through the week reheating in a toaster over for 15 minutes, just like when they were made. I have these with a nice layer of vanilla yogurt on them (I don't care for syrup), I really enjoyed the walnuts in the recipe. I would add a few more walnuts next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
I cut the proportions to make 4 pancakes, but still used 1 egg and they came out perfect. I love IHOP's nut and grain pancakes and now I can make them at home. Thank you so much for sharing this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Great flavor... so much better than a box mix and easy to make. I halved all ingredients except the egg; this made 10 4" pancakes. Plenty for me and my husband. I use pecans rather than walnuts in pancakes, and I added 1/2 Tbsp of ground flax seed for health benefits. Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
In effort to keep this recipie as natural and healthy as possible I omitted the sugar and replaced it with honey. I used 2% milk for milk and buttermilk. No buttermilk? Add one tablespoon of white vinegar or lemon juice to a liquid measuring cup. Then, add milk until the amount reaches one cup. Let the mixture stand at room temperature for 5-10 minutes. It should look curdled. Stir and you have homemade buttermilk! I cut the wheat flour down to one cup and added a half cup of flax seed meal. I switched the veg oil to olive oil. Served with a little maple syrup on top and they were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
I liked these very much! I did make some changes, though. I used Greek yogurt in place of buttermilk, and I used applesauce instead of oil. And since the batter was very thick, I used extra applesauce and extra milk to make it thinner. I also added 1/2 teaspoon of orange peel and a teaspoon of vanilla for taste. And, I added some blueberries! Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 277) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States