Grain and Nut Whole Wheat Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
These are our favorite pancakes so far. I used coconut oil instead of vegetable oil, but I left out the nuts since my girls don't like them. I sprinkled blueberries on top while they cooked. Next time I'm going to try them with even less sugar. The fruit and syrup make them sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kprete

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
I added bananas to mine and this is the best pancake recipe I have ever tasted!! Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Loved this - thanks! To make oatmeal, I just whizzed some porridge oats in the blender (having googled images to find out what the British English translation of 'old-fashioned oatmeal' is!). Instead of buttermilk, used some skimmed milk with a bit of lemon juice and half a large pot of plain yoghurt. Pancakes rose beautifully. Tried whizzing some nuts in the blender too - this gave a nutty taste with a smooth texture. Other variations we liked were: added some dessicated coconut, frozen blueberries, and mashed banana. All this made it very filling. Served with a scoop of vanilla ice-cream plus sliced bananas and honey and a sprinkle of cinnamon sugar for a treat. Also works well with a spoonful of creamy yoghurt plus more fruit, for breakfast. To make it healthier, I cut the oil a bit and it didn't seem to affect the taste, and reduced the sugar & subbed honey for it. I wouldn't put olive oil in this, as it's got a strong savoury taste. I used rapeseed oil (called Canola oil in the US), as it has a neutral taste and is very healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Oh yum! My favorite thing to get at IHOP is the Harvest Grain and Nut pancakes but we don't go there often and I miss the pancakes. These were better. I added some extra egg since I had to change the recipe yield to 8 and it called for 1 1/4 egg. So I just used 2, also added some vanilla. My husband and kids also loved these. Hubby says they are "Awesome!" I'll be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Love this recipe!! Add lemon juice to milk instead of buttermilk because that's what I usually have on hand. Recipe as is BARELY feeds my family of six. I also just use oat flour rather than process my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
These are delicious and worthy of every drop of real maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I wasn't sure how the kids would like this recipe with it be so healthy and all...but the really enjoyed it. I even made it for my weekly coffee get together and it was a huge hit with the ladies. I used maple praline syrup (sugar free) and added bananas to the top. These are even great made the night before and reheated the next day. Just add a little cup of water to the microwave when heating up to keep the pancakes moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tinalyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harlan, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Love these pancakes, just like Ihops. I added an extra egg for fluffyness, otherwise followed exact.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
These pancakes turned out great.I didn't add the nuts this time but I did add a little vanilla and cinnamon to the batter.I have to have maple syrup with my pancakes so I topped mine off with the cheater pancake syrup from this site and it went really well with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I need to make these again! Stumbled across them in my recipe box, but I remember how excellent they are. Very nutty and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 281) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States