Graham Cracker Crust III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2000
We loved this recipe with gingersnaps rather than graham. It took me 2 egg yolks to brush on entire surface, but the egg is what makes the crust so perfect. Thanks for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
For those having problems with the crumbs while brushing on the egg...make sure you are using real butter and not margarine. It may make a difference. And, make sure the crumbs are very fine and not chunky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
The best that I have ever made--and had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This crust is easy and good. I think it wouldve been much better if I hadn't overbaked it. It freaked me out a bit when I took it out after 10 min--was almost liquidy like a cake or quick bread. So I put it back in the oven for another 10 min. Not a good idea--overbaked it with my cheesecake. However, the taste is good, just a bit difficult to cut. ;o) I used gingersnap cookies bc I didn't have graham crackers, and used margarine bc I can't eat butter. It was easy enough to brush egg on; perhaps bc of how greasy it was. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2002
This was the first time I ever got a compliment on a pie crust!! I used 2 cups of Cinnamon Sugar Oatmeal Crunch graham crackers (Kroger brand), 1/2 cup melted butter, and 3 T of sugar for one 9 1/2 inch deep dish pie. The taste was an awesome compliment to the French Silk chocolate filling. I didn't have a bit of trouble spreading the egg yolk...but I pressed the crust REALLY hard into the plate so I think that may have stabilized it. Also, it cut and served like a dream! Thanks for sharing! This will be the ONLY graham cracker crust I serve from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmichaels, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Great taste with lower sugar and fat than my old recipe. Three ideas: I microwaved Imperial margarine (lowest fat margarine)in the pie plate to butter the pan; then used fingers/back of spoon to spread the crumbs so it made the butter disperse and stay together; Hints from Heloise's tip that I use for all pies: use a whole egg, lightly beaten, and apply with a pastry brush to the bottom only though for this, I followed the recipe and covered the sides as well. This crust was used for a fudge pie...a winning combination of fudge chocolate and a buttery crust. My family raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
BEST GRAHAM CRACKER CRUST
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paverman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
It was good but I also had the trouble with brushing the yolk on...the whole crust clumped up. I got it to press back down afterwards but I honestly didnt taste the difference. It was good but I didnt taste the difference the egg made. Next time I'll leave the egg out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
I really like this recipe. The egg yolk was hard to brush onto the crust (that's why I gave it four stars), but I actually ended up spreading it easier with the back of a measuring spoon. I wonder if I refrigerated the crust before brushing the yolk if the cold butter would hold the crust together better. Because of the review saying the crust stuck to the pan, I brushed my stoneware pie plate with a very little amount of butter. No sticking! I didn't use cinnamon graham crackers because cinnamon wouldn't fit with the lemon truffle pie. I used organic graham crackers to avoid partially hydrogenated veg. oil. I'll definitely use this crust over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
This was good and I used it with Key Lime Pie IX. I don't get the egg yolk part and will leave this out next time. And I would use more butter, like maybe 4 oz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss1977

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Graham Cracker Crust I

This basic graham cracker crust that works well for baked and unbaked pies.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States