Graham Cracker Crust III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This crust is easy and good. I think it wouldve been much better if I hadn't overbaked it. It freaked me out a bit when I took it out after 10 min--was almost liquidy like a cake or quick bread. So I put it back in the oven for another 10 min. Not a good idea--overbaked it with my cheesecake. However, the taste is good, just a bit difficult to cut. ;o) I used gingersnap cookies bc I didn't have graham crackers, and used margarine bc I can't eat butter. It was easy enough to brush egg on; perhaps bc of how greasy it was. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2000
We loved this recipe with gingersnaps rather than graham. It took me 2 egg yolks to brush on entire surface, but the egg is what makes the crust so perfect. Thanks for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2002
This was the first time I ever got a compliment on a pie crust!! I used 2 cups of Cinnamon Sugar Oatmeal Crunch graham crackers (Kroger brand), 1/2 cup melted butter, and 3 T of sugar for one 9 1/2 inch deep dish pie. The taste was an awesome compliment to the French Silk chocolate filling. I didn't have a bit of trouble spreading the egg yolk...but I pressed the crust REALLY hard into the plate so I think that may have stabilized it. Also, it cut and served like a dream! Thanks for sharing! This will be the ONLY graham cracker crust I serve from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmichaels, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
The best that I have ever made--and had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
For those having problems with the crumbs while brushing on the egg...make sure you are using real butter and not margarine. It may make a difference. And, make sure the crumbs are very fine and not chunky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Great taste with lower sugar and fat than my old recipe. Three ideas: I microwaved Imperial margarine (lowest fat margarine)in the pie plate to butter the pan; then used fingers/back of spoon to spread the crumbs so it made the butter disperse and stay together; Hints from Heloise's tip that I use for all pies: use a whole egg, lightly beaten, and apply with a pastry brush to the bottom only though for this, I followed the recipe and covered the sides as well. This crust was used for a fudge pie...a winning combination of fudge chocolate and a buttery crust. My family raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
BEST GRAHAM CRACKER CRUST
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paverman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
It was good but I also had the trouble with brushing the yolk on...the whole crust clumped up. I got it to press back down afterwards but I honestly didnt taste the difference. It was good but I didnt taste the difference the egg made. Next time I'll leave the egg out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
I really like this recipe. The egg yolk was hard to brush onto the crust (that's why I gave it four stars), but I actually ended up spreading it easier with the back of a measuring spoon. I wonder if I refrigerated the crust before brushing the yolk if the cold butter would hold the crust together better. Because of the review saying the crust stuck to the pan, I brushed my stoneware pie plate with a very little amount of butter. No sticking! I didn't use cinnamon graham crackers because cinnamon wouldn't fit with the lemon truffle pie. I used organic graham crackers to avoid partially hydrogenated veg. oil. I'll definitely use this crust over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
This was good and I used it with Key Lime Pie IX. I don't get the egg yolk part and will leave this out next time. And I would use more butter, like maybe 4 oz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss1977

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Graham Cracker Crust I

This basic graham cracker crust that works well for baked and unbaked pies.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States