Graham Cracker Crust III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
BEST GRAHAM CRACKER CRUST
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paverman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
I guess this crust will turn out okay, but the egg yolk is really pointless. Way to thick to brush on anything, let alone crumbly cracker crumbs. Also, 1 yolk could never cover a 9 inch circle. I don't get it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IronChefHarvey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
While the crust was tasty, while pressing it into the pie pan firmly then brushing on the egg yolk, I think the yolk ended up sealing in the moisture from the crust, and therefore the crust turned out tough. This would be good if you needed to make the pie a day+ in advance perhaps, providing a barrier between filling and crust, but I wouldn't do this if I made the pie the same day I was eating it...tasty though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannine

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Great taste with lower sugar and fat than my old recipe. Three ideas: I microwaved Imperial margarine (lowest fat margarine)in the pie plate to butter the pan; then used fingers/back of spoon to spread the crumbs so it made the butter disperse and stay together; Hints from Heloise's tip that I use for all pies: use a whole egg, lightly beaten, and apply with a pastry brush to the bottom only though for this, I followed the recipe and covered the sides as well. This crust was used for a fudge pie...a winning combination of fudge chocolate and a buttery crust. My family raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
This was good and I used it with Key Lime Pie IX. I don't get the egg yolk part and will leave this out next time. And I would use more butter, like maybe 4 oz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss1977

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This crust is easy and good. I think it wouldve been much better if I hadn't overbaked it. It freaked me out a bit when I took it out after 10 min--was almost liquidy like a cake or quick bread. So I put it back in the oven for another 10 min. Not a good idea--overbaked it with my cheesecake. However, the taste is good, just a bit difficult to cut. ;o) I used gingersnap cookies bc I didn't have graham crackers, and used margarine bc I can't eat butter. It was easy enough to brush egg on; perhaps bc of how greasy it was. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
I made a double batch of this recipe because I was making two pies, a fresh Strawberry and a Key Lime. I followed the recipe exactly, except for using plain graham crackers instead of cinnamon ones, and carefully pressed the mixture into two glass 9" pie plates. I used a wide spoon to smooth the crust and press it very firmly in place. When I began brushing the beaten egg yolk on( using a soft, long bristled pastry brush), everything started to fall apart! The sticky yolk just tore up my crust. It was a very tedious and messy job, and I used both my beaten yolks on the first crust, and it was very unevenly covered. I decided to put the second crust in the freezer to firm up the melted butter while I baked the first yolky one in the oven. When it came out of the oven, it was definately well set, and no longer crumbly. I took piecrust number two out of the freezer and lo and behold it was nice and firm, and the yolk brushing went perfect with no crumbling! Finished result- excellent crusts! Just chill before brushing on the egg yolk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flying chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
I really like this recipe. The egg yolk was hard to brush onto the crust (that's why I gave it four stars), but I actually ended up spreading it easier with the back of a measuring spoon. I wonder if I refrigerated the crust before brushing the yolk if the cold butter would hold the crust together better. Because of the review saying the crust stuck to the pan, I brushed my stoneware pie plate with a very little amount of butter. No sticking! I didn't use cinnamon graham crackers because cinnamon wouldn't fit with the lemon truffle pie. I used organic graham crackers to avoid partially hydrogenated veg. oil. I'll definitely use this crust over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
It was good but I also had the trouble with brushing the yolk on...the whole crust clumped up. I got it to press back down afterwards but I honestly didnt taste the difference. It was good but I didnt taste the difference the egg made. Next time I'll leave the egg out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
The taste was great, however, I found it hard to press into the pie pan without it crumbling. It may need more butter or a "sticking agent" than listed on the recipe. It even stuck to my baking pan. The taste, however, was great...so this is probably a recipe I will use again with modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Graham Cracker Crust I

This basic graham cracker crust that works well for baked and unbaked pies.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States