Graham Cracker Crunch Topping Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
This is great! I read the recipe a little differently than the other reviewers because I didn't finely crush the graham crackers. I crumbled them into small to medium pieces and mixed them with the remaining ingredients. After baking, the graham cracker pieces were almost caramelized and delicious! I spread it out on a well greased cookie sheet and underbaked it a little. Next time I will definitely bake it for the full 15 minutes. I will also add a little more graham crackers because there is plenty of brown sugar mixture. The graham crackers are good enough just to snack on. I skimped a little on the salt but will use the full amount next time because the little bit of salt that you get every now and then is great with the sweetness of the brown sugar. This is a must try recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
Loved this recipe! This is a definite must try. Thanks for the quick, simple, delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manitowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kohler, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
This was a great way to use up an almost empty box of graham cracker crumbs! I doubled the recipe and used 1 cup of the graham cracker crumbs that you buy in a box. This topping was great over out homemade vanilla ice cream, but it didn't get too crunchy until after it had cooled completely. Still, I think it tastes 100 times better warm. To heat up the topping, simply heat it in your toaster oven in a small metal tray or on aluminum foil. This topping tasted a lot like the crumbly topping on many apple pies and also had a hint of a toffee flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginFL

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
Good recipe, but I like my instructions to be a little more specific so I minimize the chance of screwing things up. I finely crushed most of the crackers, leaving a few bits bigger for contrast. I shouldn't have dashed it with salt - I used salted butter and it seemed a little salty - my mistake. Also, I underbaked based on other reviews, and the fact that I pre-made it for later in the day, so I could reheat it before dessert. After initial prep, and before baking, it seemed a little sweet, so I added one more graham cracker. Go ahead - it can take it. I also don't think you need to sprinkle with the white sugar, but if that's your thing, go for it. It tastes like a very sweet graham cracker crust (key lime, cheesecake, etc.). I think next time I'll cut the sugar topping out, bake it lower and slower for more crunch, and throw them in a homemade s'mores ice cream or cheesecake ice cream recipe. That would be tasty, because most graham crackers dissolve when mixed into ice cream. Not bad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
Yummy--be sure to not overcook. Had trouble making the topping last until put on the ice cream--even good plain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2004
Awesome! I will definitely make this again! I stirred this into icecream and milk and made a "milkshake". The only change/ suggestion i would make for this recipe is to only bake it for 10 minutes instead of 15 . I baked it for the entire 15 and it tasted slightly burnt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
A little too sweet, but so different from the usual ice cream toppings. It adds variety to an ice cream sundae bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2005
Very nice. I've made it in the oven, as well as in a skillet on the stove, and it turned out well either way. I served it over "Five Ingredient Ice Cream" and it made a welcome change from our regular company desserts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
It didn't wow me so I don't think I will make it again unless I need a bunch of toppings if having people for ice cream. It was ok & I liked the crunch with the ice cream & that was about it. Served it over marshmallow ripple ice cream with chocolate saice for a s'mores like sundae
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
This was yummy for our ice cream social. I doubled the recipe and should have given it extra time. Received many compliments and people asked how I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookie momma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Graham Cracker Crust I

This basic graham cracker crust that works well for baked and unbaked pies.

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States