Graham Cracker Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
It's hard not to like these. Chocolately, sweet, rich. Very easy to make. The bottom isn't really a crust. It's more soft and candy like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2001
These bars are absolutely delicious...I can't stop eating them!! I didn't have any chocolate bars on hand for the topping so I substituted half a bag of chocolate chips and melted them in the microwave with a dollop of peanut butter. This keeps the chocolate nice and soft and adds extra flavor!! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2002
The only problem I had was the very middle was quite mushy. I think I just needed to bake it a little longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2003
These are awesome for a quick casual sweet! And SUPER easy! Mine were a little mushy in the middle too, but I didn't have a problem with that. I used Nestle Milk Chocolate bars for the topping but would not suggest it, they did not melt well. I would take a pevious reviewer's suggestion and use the milk choc. chips with a little bit of p.b. These would be great with ice cream on top I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2005
I made these for a bake sale at work. I had so many people ask me about these bars the next day. They are absolutely wonderful!!! I used semi-sweet chocolate chips instead on candy bars. Next time, I think I will try caramel and chocolate drizzled on the top. The combination is just perfect--thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
Sixty years ago we used to make these to take with us to camp. I made it acoording to the recipe the first time except substituted one cup of chopped pecans for one cup of the cocoanut and mixed in 6 Oz of Choc Chips (no chocolate on top)since that is the way I remembered them. Cooked them for 20 minutes because one review said they were soft in the middle. Loved them but they were a bit greasy. I don't remember using margarine or butter and so the second time I omitted the margarine/butter. It was a bit dry and so I added about a Tablespoon of milk to the dough. Used moistened hands to spread the dough in the pan which also added a bit more moisture. I set the timer for 20 minutes and didn't hear it when it went off (was on the computer of course) and they cooked for 30 minutes. They were every bit as good as the first batch. I feel like a kid again. Thanks Diane!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
these are so, so easy and SO incredibly yummy! i didn't have any problems with mushiness (but then again i used up all of the graham crackers i had left, about 2 1/4 cups and baked it for almost 15 minutes)...instead of melting chocolate and spreading over the top i just poured 1/2 a bag of chocolate chips over the top when it was done and put it back in the over for a couple of minutes. hubby (the coconut king) asked for toasted coconut sprinkled over the top which was even better and added texture. will make again and again, thanks!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christina b

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Valley, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
i've been making these bars for a while but i know them as 5-star bars from the eagle brand cookbook...the chocolate they ask for in the book is aero bars (4) and i have found that they do work best....great and very very easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEPETRIEDISH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
These were sooo yummy! Pretty hard to eat just one at a time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lloydminster, Alberta, Canada
Living In: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Whoa, these rock! I used a mix of regular and chocolate graham crackers. I also sprinkled semi sweet chocolate chips on top after baking. I put it back in the oven for just a few minutes and used an offset spatula to spread the melted chocolate. It looked great and tasted better. I made them for a staff appreciation lunch at my son's school. Everyone loved them. It's a great recipe to make with the kids too. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keilypie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States