Graham Cracker Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
Sixty years ago we used to make these to take with us to camp. I made it acoording to the recipe the first time except substituted one cup of chopped pecans for one cup of the cocoanut and mixed in 6 Oz of Choc Chips (no chocolate on top)since that is the way I remembered them. Cooked them for 20 minutes because one review said they were soft in the middle. Loved them but they were a bit greasy. I don't remember using margarine or butter and so the second time I omitted the margarine/butter. It was a bit dry and so I added about a Tablespoon of milk to the dough. Used moistened hands to spread the dough in the pan which also added a bit more moisture. I set the timer for 20 minutes and didn't hear it when it went off (was on the computer of course) and they cooked for 30 minutes. They were every bit as good as the first batch. I feel like a kid again. Thanks Diane!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2001
These bars are absolutely delicious...I can't stop eating them!! I didn't have any chocolate bars on hand for the topping so I substituted half a bag of chocolate chips and melted them in the microwave with a dollop of peanut butter. This keeps the chocolate nice and soft and adds extra flavor!! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
these are so, so easy and SO incredibly yummy! i didn't have any problems with mushiness (but then again i used up all of the graham crackers i had left, about 2 1/4 cups and baked it for almost 15 minutes)...instead of melting chocolate and spreading over the top i just poured 1/2 a bag of chocolate chips over the top when it was done and put it back in the over for a couple of minutes. hubby (the coconut king) asked for toasted coconut sprinkled over the top which was even better and added texture. will make again and again, thanks!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christina b

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Valley, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
i've been making these bars for a while but i know them as 5-star bars from the eagle brand cookbook...the chocolate they ask for in the book is aero bars (4) and i have found that they do work best....great and very very easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEPETRIEDISH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I did modify this a bit. Used melted virgin coconut oil(a little less) instead of butter and sprayed pan with coconut oil cooking spray. Mixed package of grahams, vco, organic sweetened condensed milk all in food processor. Baked for 10 mins. poured 11.5 oz bag of pure belgian milk chocolate chips on top. Turned off oven and returned to oven for melting. Smoothed chips out with spatula. Cut with cooking sprayed scraper/chopper after cooling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2005
I made these for a bake sale at work. I had so many people ask me about these bars the next day. They are absolutely wonderful!!! I used semi-sweet chocolate chips instead on candy bars. Next time, I think I will try caramel and chocolate drizzled on the top. The combination is just perfect--thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
These are really delicious! I used to make some similar bars but I love that these have you mix everything in one bowl, very easy. I used about 3 or 4 tablespoons of butter instead of the margarine and then just sprinkled chocolate chips after the first 10 minutes of baking and returned the pan to the oven for another 7 minutes and they were perfect, not dry nor greasy. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marilyn Rodgers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Very, very yummy! I only had unsweetened coconut flakes so I was worried that they wouldn't be sweet enough, but they were perfect! You don't have to melt the chocolate bars. Just lay on top of the bars when they come out of the oven, wait a few minutes then spread with the back of a spoon. So easy, so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
M-m-m-m- so easy and so good. I used only a Tablespoon of butter, 2 C grahams, 1 C oatmeal and 1 C coconut. I baked for about 15 min. as they were getting brown around the edges. Topping was semi sweet chips of which I put on top and back in the oven till soft enough to spread. Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Super easy! First time making a bar and I was very impressed how easy these were. I've always been intimidated with bar recipes, but wanted to try out a new bar pan I purchased. These were sweet, but yummy and the ingredients were easy to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States