Gourmet Sweet Potato Souffle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
I've been making this forever and everyone always loves it. I usually top it with chopped pecans for some extra crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
Also have had a very similar recipe for years- A MUST HAVE at Thanksgiving!!! Highly recommend topping with candied pecan halves (or just sprinkly some brown sugar atop your nuts) before baking. Yummmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
This was a nice side dish. It wasn't quite what I expected though...I've never made a souffle before, but I thought it was supposed to 'pouf' up. This came out like mashed sweet potatoes with pumpkin pie flavour. Everyone said it was very tasty. Next time I may try to add candied pecans as someone suggested. This took a lot longer to cook in my oven than the recipe suggested...90 minutes total!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
This dish had an amazing flavor! Everyone raved about it at Easter dinner. I made the whole thing the night before and refrigerated overnight. I also sprinkled with pecans as others suggested. Bake time was about 10-15 minutes longer in my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
This was way, way sweet, and I even had more yams (I couldn't find sweet potatoes) than the recipe called for, and used only 2/3rds of the sugar. other than that it was good - I think next time I might omit the sugar completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OPENDESTINY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Three Hills, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Absolute hit at Christmas last year....making today for Thanksgiving. The only thing I do different is substitute white sugar for light brown (its a little richer and not as sweet) and I omit cloves because I dont like the taste. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kittykat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I made this dish for Thanksgiving and everyone absolutely loved it! It's been requested for all holidays going forward. I did make a few changes. I used about 2/3 the sugar called for in the recipe and used half white sugar and half brown sugar instead of all white sugar. Also, I took others' suggestion to top with chopped pecans and brown sugar which really made the dish. I baked for 1 hr 15 min. Another suggestion if you don't like vanilla extract is to substitue maple syrup. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Fabulous! I made it for Christmas dinner at a friends house - they asked for an 'authentic American' holiday dish but I just can't do candied yams as they are far too sweet. I couldn't be bothered with peeling and chopping so I put the potatoes in the oven instead; the peels fell off and they mashed easily. I reduced the sugar as suggested by others and because baking tends to make for sweeter veg than boiling, so I used 1/2 cup demera sugar. I mixed it up the night before since I had to bake early in the morning before traveling. My husband won't eat tree nuts, so I put crushed honey nut cornflakes on top instead. It baked up beautifully rising up the full height of the dish, but I did have to bake it a good 30 minutes more than the recipe. Overall, easy to make and wonderful results. EDIT - made it again for dinner with friends without the topping but it was still brilliant! EDIT - Had a friend make it but they pulled it out too soon so more like spoon bread than souffle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I made this dish for Christmas dinner, and everyone loved it. This is not a real souffle, however this makes a very light and tender dish. Something that everyone raved about. It makes a large amount so next time I cut it in half and it worked out great. This dish will become something that I will made on special occasions regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Amazing. Made for Thanksgiving dinner. Got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Whipped Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a classic Thanksgiving sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States