Gourmet Sweet Potato Souffle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 20, 2012
I made this for Easter dinner and it was a hit - everyone loved it! I used half-and-half instead of heavy cream, but followed everything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
This was a hit at a family Easter dinner. I left out the cloves and nutmeg and half the cinnamon to avoid a Thanksgiving/Christmas taste, but I plan to make as written for Thanksgiving next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalie
Home Town: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
fantastic and I normally don't like or eat sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I noticed that some people complained of a mashed potatoes texture instead of a fluffy look and feel. if you whip the mixture, like you are trying to make a whipped cream it helps a lot! I got raving reviews for this dish and have decided it's a family staple recipe. I also topped it with crushed grahm crackers, brown sugar mixed with melted butter since there are family menbers that don't like nuts in their food. another thing is that i used actual sweet potatoes instead of Yams. which made it not too sweet. love love love this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Delicious! I made this for Thanksgiving and I received tons of compliments. I will make this exactly as written for many holidays to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lithonia, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Excellent....I used brown sugar instead of the white and decreased it to just 1/3c which made this plenty sweet. Also used 4 eggs instead of 5, fat free half and half instead of heavy cream, omitted the cloves and upped the cinnamon to a full tsp. Wonderful flavor and nice and creamy. Thanks! This is exactly what I was looking for...something w/o the sugar and nut topping. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Made this for Thanksgiving today and it was a HUGE hit! Highly recommend this recipe, it's just like my southern grandma used to make. I used brown sugar instead of white and reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup. I also whipped the eggs before adding them, made it very fluffy. It took about an hour total in my oven at 350 the whole time. Before putting it in the oven I sprinkled some brown sugar on top, and after 50 minutes I took it out and put mini marshmallows on top, then put it back in for 10 minutes. Next time I'll probably add some pecans to the topping too. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stod
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This is the first time I've hosted Thanksgiving at my house and I decided to skip the candied yams and make this instead. My whole family is so glad that I did! Everyone had seconds and thirds of this recipe, even people who normally don't like sweet potatoes loved this. It tastes almost like a pumpkin pie. Some changes I made after reading previous reviews: I used only half the sugar called for in the recipe and used both brown and white sugar. I cooked mine in a convection oven and still had to increase the cooking time by 20 minutes. I used an overflowing cup of half-and-half because I wanted mine a little creamier and smoother and it came out wonderfully. My family has since put me in charge of this dish for every holiday now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
With all the eggs and the name, I expected this to rise up like a souffle does, but it didn't at all. Was still very good though. Used milk instead of cream and Splenda instead of sugar, but I don't think you could have told the difference, especially with 1/2 cup butter in the mix. Was very good, spices were well balanced. Will probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Made this recipe at Thanksgiving and Christmas. Got many compliments from family members and friends. Many compliments came from people who claimed they didn't much care for sweet potatos! Really makes a lot so if you are having a small party, cut in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Whipped Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a classic Thanksgiving sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States