Gourmet Sweet Potato Souffle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
I've been making this forever and everyone always loves it. I usually top it with chopped pecans for some extra crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Fabulous! I made it for Christmas dinner at a friends house - they asked for an 'authentic American' holiday dish but I just can't do candied yams as they are far too sweet. I couldn't be bothered with peeling and chopping so I put the potatoes in the oven instead; the peels fell off and they mashed easily. I reduced the sugar as suggested by others and because baking tends to make for sweeter veg than boiling, so I used 1/2 cup demera sugar. I mixed it up the night before since I had to bake early in the morning before traveling. My husband won't eat tree nuts, so I put crushed honey nut cornflakes on top instead. It baked up beautifully rising up the full height of the dish, but I did have to bake it a good 30 minutes more than the recipe. Overall, easy to make and wonderful results. EDIT - made it again for dinner with friends without the topping but it was still brilliant! EDIT - Had a friend make it but they pulled it out too soon so more like spoon bread than souffle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
This was a nice side dish. It wasn't quite what I expected though...I've never made a souffle before, but I thought it was supposed to 'pouf' up. This came out like mashed sweet potatoes with pumpkin pie flavour. Everyone said it was very tasty. Next time I may try to add candied pecans as someone suggested. This took a lot longer to cook in my oven than the recipe suggested...90 minutes total!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I made this dish for Thanksgiving and everyone absolutely loved it! It's been requested for all holidays going forward. I did make a few changes. I used about 2/3 the sugar called for in the recipe and used half white sugar and half brown sugar instead of all white sugar. Also, I took others' suggestion to top with chopped pecans and brown sugar which really made the dish. I baked for 1 hr 15 min. Another suggestion if you don't like vanilla extract is to substitue maple syrup. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
This dish had an amazing flavor! Everyone raved about it at Easter dinner. I made the whole thing the night before and refrigerated overnight. I also sprinkled with pecans as others suggested. Bake time was about 10-15 minutes longer in my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
Also have had a very similar recipe for years- A MUST HAVE at Thanksgiving!!! Highly recommend topping with candied pecan halves (or just sprinkly some brown sugar atop your nuts) before baking. Yummmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Made this recipe at Thanksgiving and Christmas. Got many compliments from family members and friends. Many compliments came from people who claimed they didn't much care for sweet potatos! Really makes a lot so if you are having a small party, cut in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I noticed that some people complained of a mashed potatoes texture instead of a fluffy look and feel. if you whip the mixture, like you are trying to make a whipped cream it helps a lot! I got raving reviews for this dish and have decided it's a family staple recipe. I also topped it with crushed grahm crackers, brown sugar mixed with melted butter since there are family menbers that don't like nuts in their food. another thing is that i used actual sweet potatoes instead of Yams. which made it not too sweet. love love love this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I made this dish for Christmas dinner, and everyone loved it. This is not a real souffle, however this makes a very light and tender dish. Something that everyone raved about. It makes a large amount so next time I cut it in half and it worked out great. This dish will become something that I will made on special occasions regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Absolute hit at Christmas last year....making today for Thanksgiving. The only thing I do different is substitute white sugar for light brown (its a little richer and not as sweet) and I omit cloves because I dont like the taste. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kittykat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Whipped Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a classic Thanksgiving sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States