Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
this is also great if you want to do half of the pecan topping and half marshmallow topping. everyone loved it, even people who don't usually like the sweet potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
I used this recipe' but after baking the sweet potatoes I peeled them and left them in chunks instead of mashing them with the other ingredients. This offers more of a chunk of potato in each portion. I also doubled the amount of topping. Excellent side dish and a favorite of family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Just getting ready to make this delicious casserole for the umpteenth time for this year's Thanksgiving. I also cut the sugar in half and might up the cream a bit. My suggestion for cooking the sweet potatoes is to cook them in a steamer. They don't dry out (like in the oven) or take on too much water (when they are boiled) or cook unevenly (as in the microwave.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MexicoKaren

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bucerias, Nayarit, Mexico
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
I make this every year for Thanksgiving and everyone in the family loves it. Awesome flavor and texture... best sweet potatoe recipe ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randy Carl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Makes this every year
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
Love sweet potatoes but this tastes like a dessert. Really too sweet for a side dish. Put it in a crust and the sweet potato pie will be a big hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki Cotie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I've been making this casserole for years now. It is a family favorite on both my side and my in laws. Every Thanksgiving and Christmas I'm expected to bring in and I do...gladly! Sometimes I add marshmallows to half the casserole. It is so delicious, our holidays are not holidays without this dish...definitely a must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
This recipe is really good as is, however, I added crushed pineapple and instead of heavy cream I used Coffee - mate French Vanilla Creamer. Superbly delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I've been making this recipe for years and is a staple at our Thanksgiving dinner. If anyone sitting around your dinner table has a nut allergy, I've substituted hard ginger cookies that you can find in the cookie section of your grocery store, I just crumble them up instead of using pecans. Gives a nice crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
I enjoyed this, however next time I'll reduce the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,573) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States