Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I made this recipe for Thanksgiving this year in addition to my normal candied yams topped with marshmallows (which is always a hit, and has been developed by me when I was a teenager ) ... I decided to try this one because it reminded me of the delicious sweet potatoe casserole at Ruth's Chris (awesome steakhouse restaurant) that I love ... Needless to say, it was a hit... My fiancé asked "who made the sweet potato casserole?" I said "I did... " He said"no really... Who made it"? I said I "ME!!" And he said "well why don't you ever make it for us at home??..." LOL... Needless to say, I guess he liked it... LOL. The only thing that I might change for next time, would be to add a dash of cinnamon to the crumble on top . but otherwise, it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Dangerously yummy! These are the most delicious sweet potatoes I've ever had. Thank you for this wonderful recipe. It will be on my Thanksgiving menu from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Absolutely delicious! Everyone loved it. I also used less white sugar than the recipe called for and it turned out great. Definitely a staple from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I made this for Thanksgiving. I didn't make any changes to the recipe. The instant response from anyone who took a bite was "this is REALLY good!" I took a plate of food to my sick brother in-law and he begged me later that night to bring him some more of those sweet potatoes! Love the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I've made sweet potato casserole for years, but I decided to try this one. Hands down the best recipe I have ever made. I did not change a thing. Thanks for sharing. I will stick with this one from here on out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tia Lawson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I used 2 cans of yams, less white and brown sugar, and also accidentally left out the butter from the sweet potato mix. It was delicious, and I got several comments about how good they were.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Made this to bring to the family Thanksgiving dinner today, 24+ guests and everyone absolutely loved it. A few people suggested that I bring this to dinner every year from now on. Thanks for this de-lish dish! Happy Thanksgiving from New England...home to the first Thanksgiving feast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falmouth, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
This recipe was absolutely wonderful! I boiled the sweet potatoes and cut down on the sugar by about 1/4 c. I totally forgot the milk and used glazed pecans from Trader Joes so I cut down on the brown sugar also. Wow, better than the Yummy Sweet Potatoes recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
A must have at every holiday meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I'm glad I read the reviews and didn't go by the ratings alone. It is a good place to start, and with reducing the sugar by half, definitely 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurieP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, New York, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,512) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States