Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
FABULOUS! I made this for Easter and it was absolutely delicious. I have tried a few Sweet Potato Recipes but I think that this one is the very best -great flavor! In my opinion, it is the baking of the yams(unlike boiling) that contributes to the subtle caramelized taste , that makes this recipe so delectable. I used 1/3 cup of white sugar and it was adequate. Thank you for sharing your recipe with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Thank you for the best sweet potato recipe ever! I followed the advice of other reviewers and cut back the white sugar to 1/3 cup and the brown sugar to 1/2 cup. I also borrowed the idea of using the mixer for the potatoes, and the strings did stay attached to the beater, allowing me to just discard it instead of scraping the beaters into the bowl. It was absolutely delicious, and will be the only sweet potato casserole I will ever make again...great taste, consistency, and presentation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Excellent! I would use less sugar next time, as others recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I have been asked every holiday by both families to make this dish for 3 years. People who hate sweet potatoes love it and the others will die for it! Even though I just smashed my favorite baking dish I am happy to have this spectacular recipe.I'm going to miss my baking dish but I will NEVER forget this recipe since I have it memorized and have shared it with every friend that has the ability to cook. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilkes Barre, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
this sweet potato casserole calls for way too much sugar as most have stated and my husband doesn't like pecans. I made the adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Delicious! I doubled the recipe and used half sugar for filling and topping...I substituted a banana for sugar in topping...came out crunchy and tasted fabulous! Thank-you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
Perfect. The recipe is 100% perfect as written. I use the largest sweet potatoes that I can find. I have also made this recipe dairy free using vegan butter sticks in place of the butter and soy milk in place of the cream and it is surprisingly very good that way too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
love it really good , creamy , sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Yessenia Kissel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Ridge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
We're not big sweet potato fans but my family LOVES this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Park Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Harshaw, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Although I am not a sweet potato fan, My family is and they love this recipe! I have made it over and over and they keep requesting it over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 1,565) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States