Gourmet Root Beer Float Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Yum! So easy and you don't even have to turn on the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
How great is this old fashion treat. I don't get the chance to make these that offen for my kids, but when I do, they soo get excited over it. There's really nothing to change with this recipe. Other then your prefence of sugar free ice cream to diet root beer, to fat free whipped topping... Yummy either way you go with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This brings back great memories. My grandpa was a "soda jerk" (i.e., he operated the soda fountain at a local drugstore) when he was young and years later when he had grandkids, he would make floats for us. I made mine using diet root beer and light vanilla ice cream. Thanks for the trip down memory lane.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
I made these for my granddaughters who are nine and four years old. They loved them and so did I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by constance

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
I TOTALLY LOVE ROOT BEER FLOATS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
This was really good. You can also use Big Red soda for a more colorful float.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
When I was younger I remember my mom always making these for us in the evening and it was always such a treat and one of my favorites! This is exactly how she would make them too, right down to the cherry on top! If you like rootbeer and ice cream, this will definately be a winner for you, but you could also change up the flavor of soda used to suite your tastes. Either way you'll love it-YUM!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Boy does this bring back memories! My grandma used to make these for me and tonight it was the perfect after dinner treat. My husband loves root beer so that's how I made his. I used Coke for mine, cream soda also works well. Whatever your favorite soda you can't go wrong with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
something about putting root beer and vanilla ice cream together is pure magic! I don't particularly like root beer or vanilla ice cream but when they are together yum!! I tried the whipped cream and cherry too which was a nice touch. thank you Lucinda!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ildefonso

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
My five year olds will do ANYTHING if promised a RB Float. Willingly clean their rooms??? It's hilarious. With whipped cream and a cherry or without, this is a classic that can't be touched. **Christine M, I'm so with ya about those wee little crystals that form. YUM!** Variation: Put it in the blender and "WHIP" for a Root Beer Freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Egg Cream

See how to make a classic drink from the old soda fountain days!

Lobster Tails Steamed in Beer

These tasty lobster tails are so easy to make.

Chocolate Beer Cupcakes with Whiskey Filling

Stout in the batter, whiskey in the chocolate filling, Irish cream in the icing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States