Gourmet Pretzel Rods Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
I found this recipe to be a bit more time consuming than I had expected. However, it was very good. I found it helpful to have my "assembly line" of toppings ready to go. If you like peanut butter, you will love this. The combination of ingredients makes this a very thick, peanut butter-y tasting sort of treat. Definitely have a beverage available. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2004
These were pretty easy (but a bit time consuimg) to make. They were a pretty big hit too, alot of people suggested dipping it in chocolate instead of the caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADZELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
These are much better if you dip them in chocolate AFTER you dip them in caramel. I usually dip them in the caramel,let that sit for a moment, then dip them in melted milk chocolate and drizzle some melted white chocolate over the top. The presentation is beautiful and they taste wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
179 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IMVINTAGE
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
I dipped each rod (I used jumbo 8" rods) in the caramel (leaving about a 2 1/2 inch "handle") put them on a parchment paper lined baking sheet (next time I think I will try to get them supported in a glass so that the caramel doesn't pool up at the end) & stuck them in the freezer for a couple of hours. Then I dipped them in ghiradelli dipping chocolate & coated them in the chopped peanuts. (I only used peanuts on the very end of the rods to give them a truly gourmet look). These are soo tasty! They taste like a twix candy bar, only much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I opted for this recipe because it seemed so easy. My two friends and I made them together, one dipped them in caramel, I did the chocolate, and one topped them with nuts. We poured and smoothed the caramel with a spoon, let it sit for a minute or two, then did the same for the chocolate. The peanuts went on right away else the chocolate hardened and was no longer tacky. It was a sticky mess, but the end product was way worth it - thus the 5 stars. They are ABSOLUTELY delicious, better than store bought. I couldnt imagine doing them alone, the caramel and chocolate do get cold/hard and then the pretzels break. It would even be fun to do with kids. But, do try them, they are awesome and addicting, and worthy of many compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Oh So Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Auntie D in MN
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
Great recipe! I cut the pretzel rods in half (to better fit on the goodie tray) and dipped in caramel and chocolate. Let the caramel set and then dip in chocolate. If the caramel "pools" on one side while setting, roll the rods to smooth out the caramel after it has set. You can do so many things with this recipe, so many options for coating the rods.....nuts, candies, colored drizzles, sprinkles, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
I made these at Christmas time and gave away to neighbors and friends with homemade cookies. The favorite was the one with chocolate and rolled in crushed butterfinger candy. Just freeze the candy and beat up in a plastic bag. I recommend laying down either wax paper or plastic because of the drips and mess. but oh so easy and oh so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ringgold, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
Yummy! Made these the other night for our departmental bake sale...they almost didn't make it to work. I found that the caramel did a little better when it hardened up just a little - after melting, I set it off the heat for a few minutes, then used the back of a spoon to smear on the pretzel rods. I didn't have any trouble with the caramel running all over the place once I put them on parchment paper to 'set' before covering with chocolate. I changed up the toppings a little - used chopped roasted peanuts (used my mini food chopper to chop 'em up fine), shredded coconut, chopped white chocolate, and multi-colored sprinkles. I didn't put all the toppings on one rod - I made a variety. The only thing I didn't like about this recipe is the use of pre-packaged caramels - it took a while to unwrap all those little buggers. However, I used what I had left over in my baking stash - next time I think I'll try making caramel from scratch. I had some caramel, chocolate, and toppings leftover, so I threw all the toppings together in with the caramel, stirred it up a little, rolled into small balls, then dropped them in the chocolate. A nice little surprise. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Athens, Georgia, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
These things are awesome! I let the caramel cool slightly then spread on the pretzels first, then pressed mini M&M's into the caramel. Placed on parchment and popped in the refrigerator for just a few minutes, then drizzled in melted dark chocolate. I also did some with caramel, dark chocolate and crushed toffee bar - those were good too! I'm looking forward to making more of these, and experimenting with different combinations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pretzel Turtles

These addictive candies use just three ingredients. Bake and gobble.

Fudgy Pretzel Brownies

See how to make a sweet fudge brownie with a salty, crunchy kick.

Strawberry Pretzel Salad

It's salty! It's sweet! Your family will love this dessert salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States