Gourmet Pretzel Rods Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
I made these for gift baskets for christmas and everyone raved about them. I actually got yelled at for not making enough..so i guess i will have to be making some more..lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Rucker, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I loved this recipe! It was so easy and didn't take long. I brought these to a Christmas party and they were gone within minutes! Like other people have done, I also dipped them in melted chocolate after I dipped them in caramel and let the caramel set. Also, rather than crushed nuts, I drizzled white chocolate over them. The presentation looked amazing and they tasted great! Thanks for this incredibly recipe that I will use again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
I made these using caramel bits instead of indivdually wrapped caramels. I dipped rods as well as the large sourdough pretzels. I did not completely cover the the sourdough pretzels with caramel as they are quite large. I then dipped them in a combination of dark chocolate and chocolate almond bark. Add some sprinkles and/or white chocolate drizzle and they were beautiful. Tasted delicious too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
These things are awesome! I let the caramel cool slightly then spread on the pretzels first, then pressed mini M&M's into the caramel. Placed on parchment and popped in the refrigerator for just a few minutes, then drizzled in melted dark chocolate. I also did some with caramel, dark chocolate and crushed toffee bar - those were good too! I'm looking forward to making more of these, and experimenting with different combinations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
Yummy! Made these the other night for our departmental bake sale...they almost didn't make it to work. I found that the caramel did a little better when it hardened up just a little - after melting, I set it off the heat for a few minutes, then used the back of a spoon to smear on the pretzel rods. I didn't have any trouble with the caramel running all over the place once I put them on parchment paper to 'set' before covering with chocolate. I changed up the toppings a little - used chopped roasted peanuts (used my mini food chopper to chop 'em up fine), shredded coconut, chopped white chocolate, and multi-colored sprinkles. I didn't put all the toppings on one rod - I made a variety. The only thing I didn't like about this recipe is the use of pre-packaged caramels - it took a while to unwrap all those little buggers. However, I used what I had left over in my baking stash - next time I think I'll try making caramel from scratch. I had some caramel, chocolate, and toppings leftover, so I threw all the toppings together in with the caramel, stirred it up a little, rolled into small balls, then dropped them in the chocolate. A nice little surprise. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Athens, Georgia, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
I made these at Christmas time and gave away to neighbors and friends with homemade cookies. The favorite was the one with chocolate and rolled in crushed butterfinger candy. Just freeze the candy and beat up in a plastic bag. I recommend laying down either wax paper or plastic because of the drips and mess. but oh so easy and oh so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ringgold, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Auntie D in MN
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
Great recipe! I cut the pretzel rods in half (to better fit on the goodie tray) and dipped in caramel and chocolate. Let the caramel set and then dip in chocolate. If the caramel "pools" on one side while setting, roll the rods to smooth out the caramel after it has set. You can do so many things with this recipe, so many options for coating the rods.....nuts, candies, colored drizzles, sprinkles, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Oh So Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I opted for this recipe because it seemed so easy. My two friends and I made them together, one dipped them in caramel, I did the chocolate, and one topped them with nuts. We poured and smoothed the caramel with a spoon, let it sit for a minute or two, then did the same for the chocolate. The peanuts went on right away else the chocolate hardened and was no longer tacky. It was a sticky mess, but the end product was way worth it - thus the 5 stars. They are ABSOLUTELY delicious, better than store bought. I couldnt imagine doing them alone, the caramel and chocolate do get cold/hard and then the pretzels break. It would even be fun to do with kids. But, do try them, they are awesome and addicting, and worthy of many compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IMVINTAGE
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
I dipped each rod (I used jumbo 8" rods) in the caramel (leaving about a 2 1/2 inch "handle") put them on a parchment paper lined baking sheet (next time I think I will try to get them supported in a glass so that the caramel doesn't pool up at the end) & stuck them in the freezer for a couple of hours. Then I dipped them in ghiradelli dipping chocolate & coated them in the chopped peanuts. (I only used peanuts on the very end of the rods to give them a truly gourmet look). These are soo tasty! They taste like a twix candy bar, only much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pretzel Turtles ®

These addictive candies use just three ingredients. Bake and gobble.

Fudgy Pretzel Brownies

See how to make a sweet fudge brownie with a salty, crunchy kick.

Strawberry Pretzel Salad

It's salty! It's sweet! Your family will love this dessert salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States