Gourmet Pretzel Rods Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
This turned out to be a terrific homemade Christmas gift for my co-workers. Crafty yet so elegant! Definately use melted milk chocolate chips...SO easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
These were so good. Just like the ones that cost a fortune in the chocolate stores. I made these for holiday treat bags for third graders. I would not suggest that. It took way too much time and after watching them inhale them, I decided it was too much work for that. The prep time is way longer than 5 minutes. It takes forever to unwrap the caramels. Once you get that done they are fairly easy to make but do take time. The topping possibilities are endless. After dipping in caramel, I rolled the pretzel in a mixture of chopped peanuts, mini chocolate chips and holiday sprinkles. Then I drizzled with white chocolate and sprinkled on a few more sprinkles. I found some pretzel bags at the craft store. I think they turned out really cute. If the caramel starts to firm up just pop it back in the microwave for a few seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I make these every Christmas for friends and co-workers everyone loves them, I dip the pretzels in the caramel, roll them in the peanuts, then I drizzle with milk chocolate and white chocolate very nice treat;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yolieA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Made these last night for the holidays. Bought Dark Chocolate disks from AC Moore... Used the double boiler method to melt... First bag was a bust. I learned with the second package that you MUST keep the water boiling the entire time you are melting/dipping. You cant turn the flame down/off after the chocolate melts. If you do, it turns rock hard like fudge. This is probably why melting in the microwave doesnt work out well. So keep a steady boil going while dipping. I dipped a whole bag of rods and then about 1/2 bag of pretzel snaps (waffle shaped) just half the pretzel. I sprinkled them with some green/white mint chip decorations I found. They ended up tasting like a Mint Girl Scout Cookie! This recipe is really versatile! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovetocook
Photo by Lesli
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Great Recipe. I broke the rods in half and only did half the amount of caramel at a time, just in case I ruined it. I didn't really measure out the water, but it seems the less you use, the thicker your caramel will be on your pretzels. I like it thick, so when you put it on parchment paper, it gathers in a little pool. More caramel to cover in chocolate! Put the caramel sticks in the fridge or freezer to harden. They were so much easier to work with cold. But once they're covered it chocolate, you don't have to worry about that anymore. No nuts for me, but I did add white chocolate for presentation. They were sooooo delicious! Definitely something I'll make every year, or every other year for christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
This is a great idea but it needed a little help to make it perfect. First, I melted the caramels in the crockpot. Then, I melted white and dark almond bark in pans on the stove. I used the back of a spoon to "swirl" the caramel on the rods. Was a little difficult and time consuming, but worth it. Let those cool and harden. Then, dip in almond bark. Before hardened, sprinkle nuts, andes pieces, crushed reeses or toffee bits before almond bark is hardened. Then use the leftover almond bark in contrasiting colors to drizzle over rods. Perfect! Used 1T. of water for 2 bags of caramels, turned out perfectly chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2009
I thought that these were amazing! I changed the recipe a little. I dipped them in caramel like the recipe called for then I rolled them in a mixture of mini chocolate chips, butterscotch chips, toffee chips, and chopped walnuts. I also didn't add the extra layer of chocolate on top in fear of making it too sweet. My family and friends LOVED them and asked for the recipe... Another great all recipes website recipe! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
Perfect and simple to adapt to each persons liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prell2k4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
We received as a Christmas gifts. They were very good. Each gift was garnished with two of the chocolate dipped pretzel rods securly wrapped and tied to the top with a ribbon. It was beautiful and delicious! I opened my pretzels in mid-January and they were still very good. Looking forward to using this idea in years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
I made these for gift baskets for christmas and everyone raved about them. I actually got yelled at for not making enough..so i guess i will have to be making some more..lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Rucker, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pretzel Turtles

These addictive candies use just three ingredients. Bake and gobble.

Fudgy Pretzel Brownies

See how to make a sweet fudge brownie with a salty, crunchy kick.

Strawberry Pretzel Salad

It's salty! It's sweet! Your family will love this dessert salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States