Gourmet Pretzel Rods Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
These are amazing, I feel like a gourmet candy chef! I used parchment paper and I still had to spray it to keep from sticking. I used kraft caramel bits, they were very easy to melt and work with. After the caramel had hardened in the freezer I covered it with semi-sweet chocolate and drizzled with white chocolate. I rolled a few in crushed pecans. Would make a great treat for bridal/baby showers sprinkled with the colors of the theme. Can't wait to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Perfect for Christmas !!! Make sure to have plenty of time to make these babies, but they are so worth it. Some of our favorite combos are: Caramel & Pecans Caramel, Chocolate & Pecans Chocolate & mini M&MS Caramel, White Chocolate & Pecans Just think of your favorite candybars to give you inspiration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VanGogh0526

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Kinda hard with the caramel but worth the trouble. Everyone loved these :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
The caramel melted pretty nicely, although I heated in 30 sec. spurts. Next time I will spray the wax paper with some cooking spray since they stuck to it pretty badly. I lost a few peeling them off. We coated in chocolate after the caramel cooled and decorated with crushed butterfingers & kitkats, sprinkles, m&m's. Great use for all that left over Halloween candy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
You really can't go wrong with these. Caramel, chocolate, pretzels.. They're delicious! After making around 100 rods, here are my words of advice. Thin the caramel a lot; it makes it much easier to work with.. the thicker the caramel the more often the pretzels break. To remove excess caramel, spin the rod against the side of your pan (I used a small crockpot and it worked wonderfully). DON'T lay the caramels on WAX PAPER! Some may have already known this but I didn't.. big mistake! Next time I'll try parchment paper. But because we used wax paper, the only way we were able to get them to release was by laying the paper/pretzels on a slightly warmed burner (glasstop stove). It worked but wasn't preferred. We decorated with holiday sprinkles and the end result was beautiful. Perfect project for a Girls' Day In :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuzysMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Debary, Florida, USA
Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
These are great! Tastes just like a twix bar the way I made them. I used caramel bits by Kraft, which melt up quickly, and you don't have to unwrap. TIP: Place a piece of wax paper on a cookie sheet and spray it with non-stick cooking spray REALLY WELL. If you don't do this, the caramel WILL stick! Coat the pretzel rods with the caramel (spreading with a small spoon works well), then place on the cookie sheet, and put cookie sheet in the refrigerator to set. While mine were in the frig, I melted about 3/4 of a bag of milk chocolate chips in the microwave. I spread the melted chocolate over the set caramel with a spoon. Then drizzled with melted white chocolate and sprinkled with Halloween sprinkles. Works well if you have help in this step. I was doing the milk chocolate, my son drizzled the white and my daugter decorates with the sprinkles. These were a big hit with my Sunday school class for a Halloween treat! Will make these again, I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I've been making versions of these pretzels for years. They are always a hit at bake sales. Here are 2 hints that may help you when making them. Purchase those ice cube trays that make ice cubes that are long and skinny. The cubes will fit down the neck of water/drink bottles. The pretzels fit perfect in there and will dry/harden perfectly in there. If the pretzels are a little short, crumble up paper and put inside the ice cube tube. If selling them, use the same tray but cover in a brown bag or paper and then tie a pretty ribbon around it. I find the brown bag works easiest, cheapest, and looks great w/the ribbon. 2. To wrap the pretzels I'll just buy that clear,stiff plastic wrapping paper at the $ stores. (The kind you can use to wrap baskets, etc.) I either seal them w/clear tape or I'll cut the pieces long and tie the ends w/curling ribbon. These are great year round, for all holidays, but our favorite is during During Halloween, we decorate them by sprinkling fall-Halloween theme cupcake/cake sprinkles on them, wrap them and call them Witches Wands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Wolszon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Vadnais Heights, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
So good I love the taste of sweet and salt. I'm a little clumsy getting the carmel on the preztel rods but I'm sure this will get easier the more I make these
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
I let these set on the wax paper after dipping the caramel and planned to then dip them in the chocolate. I am not sure if I let them sit too long??? but the caramel was glued to the wax paper and couldn't be peeled off. I had to throw them out. Don't wait to dip them in chocolate like I did or they will be ruined!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lisle, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
My daughter is running for Student Body Secretary so we made 4 batches of these to hand out in hopes of some campaign votes. :0) We did it in steps and that made a bit of a difference. First we painted the caramel on and placed on wax paper sprayed with Pam until set (about 15 min.) Then we melted our Chocolate and painted it on and let sit. Finally, when that was set, we melted two bowls of white chocolate that we thinned out with some Crisco and tinted to match her school colors and drizzled over the top. Very pretty and very yummy! We were lucky enough to find 'Pretzel Bags' in the baking section at our local Walmart to give them out in. Great idea, thank you for posting the recipe Jeannie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOLARA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Martinez, California, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pretzel Turtles

These addictive candies use just three ingredients. Bake and gobble.

Fudgy Pretzel Brownies

See how to make a sweet fudge brownie with a salty, crunchy kick.

Strawberry Pretzel Salad

It's salty! It's sweet! Your family will love this dessert salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States