Gourmet Mushroom Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
Awesome recipe! I love risotto and this really satisfied my craving for it. I only used button mushrooms to save a few bucks but I really want to try it again with both types. Man I love mushrooms...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2015
For those of you who felt the 20 min. is not long enough, I suggest you 1) use a high-straight-sided frying pan to make your risotto. 2) Make sure your broth is warm enough, it should not 'sizzle' when you add it. It should be pretty much the same temperature. 3)Turn the heat up just a wee tad and I don't think you will be disappointed. I geared this down for serving 2 with enough left over to try the Risotto al Salto today. (Still used a frying pan) Was short on mushrooms but was just as tasty. I heat my chicken broth in a glass measuring cup in the micro, specifically so I can give it a quick zap when I feel it is cooling. This leaves my other burners free but still gives me the important heated liquid to add.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRAGNLAW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2015
I would definitely make this again, and i added peas in with the last of the stock. My whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
All I can say is wow!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 star restaurant quality!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
This was delish just as written and for my first try at risotto, it was easy! I do see where you CAN cut the mushrooms in half if you don't want it super mushroomy. We have decided that if we are going to use this as a main dish we will leave it with a pound each but as a side, maybe cut it to half. I took the advise to have the broth on low and the risotto pan hot enough that when the new broth was added it boiled immediately. I would say probably 30 minutes total,. We will most definitely be having this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marla Kerrett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2015
I had a not so great experience the first time I tried to make risotto (using the package recipe) and vowed to try it again. Boy oh boy do I wish I would have found this recipe the first time! It was delicious, and people had seconds and thirds. I am no longer afraid of risotto thanks to this recipe! I did use the full 2lbs of mushrooms, but did need to cook down longer than the 2 minutes noted, and yes it's a lot of mushrooms, but I think that's sort of the point :) I did end up with a lot of liquid from the mushrooms and was worried it would make the risotto soupy once added, but it soaked right into the rice and really infused the extra mushroom flavor. Another tip is to make sure the heat is such that the broth essentially insta-boils when it hits the pan but not so hot that you are in danger of burning the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phantasma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Solvang, California, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2015
,I didn't have any chives and forgot to put the butter in otherwise followed the recipe but it was still great and my husband and I loved it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2015
Great recipe but next time I would try boiling the risotto for awhile first as it took almost an hour to cook on low-med heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
This recipe was excellent, my wife was begging for more and has been craving it for a week since. I was a little liberal with the wine, and probably didn't end up using a cup or two (at least) of broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
This is my all-time favorite risotto recipe. I follow it exactly. I would only say that the key, for me, is don't be afraid of high enough heat. Not high, but not too low either. It shouldn't take too long for the ladle of broth to absorb into the rice each time. That's why the 15-20 minute cook time in that section is accurate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,514) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Chef John's Baked Mushroom Risotto

Chef John's rich, creamy risotto lets the oven do some of the work. Genius!

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States