Gourmet Cream of Broccoli Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
Excellent soup, very tasty and easy to make. I omitted the butter, cream and salt. Instead, sauteed in water and used plain soy milk. I did, however, add 1/4 to 1/2 cup of loosely grated sharp cheddar cheese. The flavor was still excellent with the modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
This is an excellent recipe. To call it gourmet, however, may be to venture into hyperbole. I seasoned it with fresh pepper, and garnished it with shredded cheddar, but made no further adjustments; none need be made. This is a solid, simple recipe that, given the excellent, tasty result, takes very little time and effort to prepare. It is refreshing to find a recipe accurately scaled down to two servings--thank you Miss Zyla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
OMG...is this awesome or what?!!! We absolutely loved this soup. Not to mention how EASY it is to make. I followed the recipe exactly as written and would not change a thing (as I normally would) in the future either. Thank you for another grrrreat recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2002
Oh my gosh!! You're right Elizabeth! It IS GOURMET! it tasted so good I want to make it ever night! I give it my own rating of 10 stars! very very good!I'm going to make it tonight for my mother-in-law!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
Instead of cream I use oatmeal to thinken up the soup! After I puree the soup it comes out nice and creamy! (and healthier!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
I made this recipe almost exact as stated (added garlic powder, tastefully simple season salt, dash of nutmeg and fresh black pepper)and it got nothing but rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYPD K9 COP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
I added fresh minced garlic with the other vegetables and I skipped the parchment paper step only because I didn't have any. I also used fat free evaporated milk because I don't usually keep whipping cream on hand. This soup tasted turned out rich and creamy--nice "cup" soup as in something to drink. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
We loved this, kids included! I added 3/4 cup rice (already cooked) and 1/2 cup shredded Cheddar cheese. Also, just use a 14 oz. can of broth; no need to measure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Beaver, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
This recipe was just okay. I ended up squeezing the juice of half a lemon in as well as putting two dashed of cayenne pepper and several dashes of Old Bay seasoning in to jazz it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
Fantastic easy soup. Loved it. I made double the recipe. I didn't have enough whipping cream so I added instead, 1/2 cup of leftover cream of chicken soup, 1/4 cup whole milk, 1/4 cup of half and half and about 1/8 cup of the left-over whipping cream. Worked fantastic...yummy. Will definately do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States