Gourmet Chicken Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
Not a bad start, and kind of boring as is, but my additions took this over the top to something truly magnificent! I made the sandwiches on "Bread Machine Focaccia," also from this site. I rubbed the chicken breasts with olive oil, and seasoned them with salt, pepper, and Montreal Chicken Seasoning. I didn't saute them in a skillet, prefering instead to grill them. I also built a "deluxe" version of this sandwich by adding bacon, Romaine lettuce, and sliced tomato. It was out of this world delicious and, paired with "Rachel's Tomato Basil Soup," was a picture perfect summer meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
390 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
This was absolutely delicious. A couple of notations I might add. I used lowfat mayo and it had plenty of flavor. Also I grilled some red pepper and red onions in butter in a separate pan and added it on top of the chicken. For the size bread I had there was only enough spread for 2 sandwiches. I would recommend doubling the spread. We will use this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
196 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2003
FABULOUS! My husband, four kids, and I just loved this sandwich. I quadrupled the dressing - it is just great and will work well on other foods. I topped the sandwiches with roasted red peppers, leaf lettuce, and sliced tomato. Also used a Rosemary Focaccia. My family wants this again tomorrow night for supper! Thanks so much! I cannot say enough good things about this recipe - but I suggest the roasted red peppers and also make extra dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
166 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2002
Quick and very tasty! I cooked my chicken on my George Foreman for 5 minutes and threw all the ingredients for the spread in my mini food processor-it took no longer than 10 minutes from start to finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Awesome sandwich! I used some leftover italian herb grilled chicken I had on hand. All I need to add was some roasted red peppers and some cheese. My husband added a bit of bacon to his of course! This was perfect for a quick and easy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2003
I made this sandwich for a party and people talked about it for weeks. I bought the foccia bread at Panera Bread and sliced in half so I had two large rounds, then added the lettuce, chicken and sauce. Best to slice your chicken thin. It was outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2002
I made my own bread for this- not a focaccia, but a nice french peasant bread. I split it, spread a garlic/rosemary/dill butter on the inside and toasted it... Terrific. I will _try_ it with the foccacia next, just on the off chance, but I cannot see how it could taste better... One comment; the quality of the mustard is very important. The Dijon is the bare _minimum_. I ended up using Pommery, which is a stone ground French mustard. Very, very grainy and thick. Worked so well that I started fantasizing about starting a restaurant so that I could serve this sanddwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendall Gray

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2003
I left out the bread and just had the chicken with the spread on top, with some veggies on the side and it made a great dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2003
Good eats. I used Dijonnaise and just added rosemary to that (hey, I'm all about ease over here). I also used perdue thin cuts (thinly cut chicken breast) to save time in the "pounding" area. I used the "easy focaccia" bread recipe from this site (with garlic added) and set out other condiments as in; tomato slices, romain lettuce, sliced red onion, etc. so everyone could create their own. Thanks Lisa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
EXCELLENT! Upon getting home late tonight and not wanting to really "cook" this was great!! I doubled the sauce (as others suggested), added a DASH of dill/garlic powder. I didn't have (nor could I find) rosemary foccica bread...just "plain" focciacia worked great for us. Added a leaf of lettuce and a slice of deli colby jack cheese....mmmmmmmmmm. Easy AND delicious! What a great combination!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gourmet Chicken Sandwich

This is a cut above your everyday chicken sandwich. So satisfying to bite into!

Grilled Chicken Salad Sandwich

See how to make a tasty chicken salad using leftover grilled chicken.

Bacon Jack Chicken Sandwich

Quick-and-easy chicken sandwiches star Jack cheese and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States