Gourmet Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I used three chicken breasts that I broiled instead of canned chicken. I also decided on the black grapes (they looked red but were labeled as black) because of their flavor. I opted to use about 1/3 cup of mayo instead of the cucumber dressing simply because I had it on hand. Served on croissants, it was exactly what I anticipated, a light and fruity chicken salad. Yum. Thanks for a simple and delicious recipe. It's now one of my favorites and will be keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANEDREAMER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Nice twist on chicken salad, however if I were going to go so far as to call it "gourmet" I wouldn't used canned chicken... I opted to use some leftover citrus grilled chicken I had on hand. I also used some red grapes for a little color. I didn't have cucumber salad dressing so I used Hellman's light mayo cut with a bit of sour cream and added a bit of salt, pepper and just a bit of curry powder. Overall, very good on toasted whole grain bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
I used red grapes instead of green, used Miracle Whip for the dressing, and chose walnuts over almonds. This recipes was awesome. The flavors go great together. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
I increased the recipe to nine servings from six. I left out the oranges, and I used a total of two cups of grapes. I also used red grapes and not green. I only had about a half cup of celery, and I threw in a cup of almonds. I actually thought that there were too many almonds, so I'll decrease them next time. There was also a salty taste, and I don't know if that came from the nuts, or from using canned chicken. I've never used it before. I was trying to duplicate a recipe that I lost several years ago, and this was close. My kids and husband loved it. I was disappointed, but maybe just because I was expecting my "old" recipe. We'll try it again, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
I love it! It is my favorite. I use red grapes to add more color. Something I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
I liked this recipe, but made a few changes that worked really well. I added cucumbers and crasins. Instead of plain almond, I used ranch flavored salad topper alamonds and mayo instead of the cucumber dressing. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andersona1129

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2000
I loved this recipe but my picky 10 year old son did not. My 3 year old liked it pretty well though. I will save this for parties at work or lunch with girlfriends and serve hot dogs to the kids. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2001
This recipe was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
This is good & easy. Used regular cucumber ranch (the lite was too salty)because I couldn't find just cucumber dressing. You should definitely toast the almonds -they are much better that way. Also red grapes are good in it, that's what I had.-Susie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Germantown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
The best chicken salad I've ever had. Made my own cucumber dressing with half a finely chopped cucumber, a cup of plain yogurt, a garlic clove, a teaspoon of lemon juice, a pinch of salt, and about a half a teaspoon of pepper. Blended it all together, and it was phenomenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Fruity Curry Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty curry chicken salad with lots of healthy fruit.

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Grilled Chicken Salad with Seasonal Fruit

An amazing main dish salad that stars grilled chicken and fresh seasonal fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States