Gourmet Chicken Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
Loved it, Not generally a fan of chicken salad, but this stuff is fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
As fantastic as this recipe is, as written, I've found it to be versatile as well. I had some left over roasted chicken, and decide I wanted to make a quick chicken salad out of. I reduced the menu for 4 servings, and used: 1/2 tsp of McCormick Garlic and Herb seasoning in place of, Fresh Rosemary. 1/2 Cup of chopped almonds instead of walnuts. 1/4 cup of Feta instead of Blue Cheese. I didn't add any salt because of the saltiness of the Feta, but did use fresh cracked black pepper. What a fantastic recipe! It would work great as an appetizer, or a dip, and the only thing that I might seriously consider adding to it would be a tbsp or a 1/4 cup of raisuns to it. Toasted wheat bread, or crescent rolls with lettuce and tomato for a great sandwhich. I highly recommend this recipe both "as is," or to experiment with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WallyPres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
This was an EXCELLENT recipe!!! My husband couldn't stop eating it..thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2005
I made this recipe, except I tossed in some golden rasins, it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Barbara Zavadil
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
This was delicious! I didn't have the walnuts so I added chopped cashews instead which worked quite well for me. I also added a single serving sized tin of drained fruit cocktail for added taste. I will definitely be making it again and may just add toasted sesame seeds as well. I took the accompanying photo and that is tomato aspic on the side. (Recipe for that is under review!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Zavadil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
This was very good. Reviewers who found the rosemary to be overwhelming may not have been using fresh rosemary -- if you are going to use dried rosemary you need to reduce the amount to one teaspoon. My husband doesn't like nuts, so I left them out of his portion. He tried one bite with walnuts in it; he agreed that the walnuts are needed to balance the intensity of the blue cheese taste, but thought perhaps raisins might do the same thing. I might add some halved grapes or some raisins next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
Very, very good! I used pre-cooked chicken strips (Oscar Meyer) because I didn't have fresh chicken on hand, and added the lemon juice and zest to the chicken anyway. My fiance said it was the best chicken salad that he ever had! We'll be buying more chicken and plan on making more for lunches next week. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medical Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
I was a little disappointed with this recipe. I thought I would love the combination of ingredients, but it was way too nutty. I couldn't finish it because all I could taste were the walnuts. If they were decreased to maybe 1/2 cup, this would have been good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Queensbury, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I made a few personal tweaks, but used this recipe as the basis for my chicken salad and LOVED it. I didn't include the bleu cheese or the celery, and added some additional herbs for seasoning. It was AWESOME. I typically add relish to chicken salads, but this was so savory and perfect, I decided not to. Tip: I used the leftover chicken broth to make a gravy by adding Worcestershire sauce, soy sauce, and flour (for thickening). This recipe makes an awesome base for gravy - highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
I liked this a lot, but I think the rosemary was a bit out of place. Other than the rosemary, I think this was a real hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fruity Curry Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty curry chicken salad with lots of healthy fruit.

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States