Goulash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
great hearty winter meal! I followed suggestions and omitted the tomato paste and I also used a can of mixed veggies. Love that this has so many variations and options.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jeannette, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen Doucet
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Made it 2 times now. Great if you are not into the soupy style Goulash, Love the lightly sweet fresh taste. Great hardy meal that kids like too. Which I did leave out the mushrooms and peas. It was still good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
This was a good recipe! I also thought the tomato base was a little too over powering but to change that all I had to do was cut out the tomato paste, and I used diced tomatoes w/ Basil instead of stewed. I also wanted mine to be a little less "watery" so I omitted the water and just used the juices from the canned tomotoes. My son is allergic to peas and corn so I made him a bowl excluding those ingredients and adding diced carrots & Broccoli. This is a very versatile recipe where you can add spice, take away, use different meats such as sausage, hamburger, stew meat, etc. The same with vegetables according to your likes and dislikes! Have fun with it, and find the right niche for your family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
All I can say is I have three teenage boys and they ate enjoyed it. Had enough leftovers for the next day too. :) Will make again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
this recipe easily feeds 10 - 12 people. instead of tomato sauce i used prego sauce. but tasted GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
This is a very versatile recipe! Add or subtract any ingredients to your taste and you don't lose much. My mom made something similar to this but added ketchup (which I don't care for). I added a T. chili powder just to give a little kick but it's fine without as well. This is a wonderful "cold winter day and I don't feel like going to the grocery store to buy special ingredients" kind of recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I was looking for a great recipe that has a good variety of vegetables and I thought this was good. I made it for the first time tonight and loved it. However I couldn't taste the garlic at all I will have to add more next time. :) Also it was a lot of tomato taste but I think I just needed to add more seasonings, it wasn't overly soupy so the amount of tomato paste/sauce seemed right I think it just needs a lot more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StephieBoo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Huge hit with my family and so easy to make. Great way to use up left over vegtables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Good standby winter food. We like this recipe, but go even more American by using a jar of primavera pasta sauce instead of all the tomatoes and substituting green beans for the peas. I usually use a little less than a pound of macaroni. Makes enough for several meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
I agree this is a bit heavy on the tomato. I will cut back or cut out the tomato paste next time. I halved the recipe and it still makes a huge amount. We liked it ok. Nothing great but easy to make and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmel, Indiana, USA
Living In: Caracas, Distrito Federal, Venezuela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Goulash Supreme

Macaroni simmers with ground beef and onions in a spicy tomato sauce.

Classic Goulash

This American goulash is so tasty—and can be easily made in the slow cooker.

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States