Goulash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2007
This was a big hit with my family. I followed recommendations of using less tomato products so I cut it down to 26 1/2 oz. can of tomato sauce and 14.5 oz. of crushed tomatoes. That worked for me. I don't like cooked peas so I added frozen peas when the meat mixture was almost cooked. I didn't have green pepper so I substituted red pepper. I added 1 T. of chili pdr. to spice it up, next time I will increase it to 2 T. chili pdr. Thank you for submitting this recipe, I will definately prepare it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2000
My whole family loved this dish, and it was easy to make too. I've found that if you make too much, it's easy to freeze and serve as a quick meal later on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
This was good, quick, and not too expensive to make. I kind of halved the recipe. I used 8 ounces of macaroni, 1 lb of ground beef, only one can of tomato paste and sauce, and I didn't add the water. Everything else I pretty much left the same. I did use frozen peas though, since we're not too big on canned peas. I also threw in whatever seasoning I thought would be good, so I used some ground mustard, Italian seasoning, basil, and some crushed red pepper. I topped it with a little shredded cheddar and served it with some crusty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
This was a good recipe! I also thought the tomato base was a little too over powering but to change that all I had to do was cut out the tomato paste, and I used diced tomatoes w/ Basil instead of stewed. I also wanted mine to be a little less "watery" so I omitted the water and just used the juices from the canned tomotoes. My son is allergic to peas and corn so I made him a bowl excluding those ingredients and adding diced carrots & Broccoli. This is a very versatile recipe where you can add spice, take away, use different meats such as sausage, hamburger, stew meat, etc. The same with vegetables according to your likes and dislikes! Have fun with it, and find the right niche for your family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2002
This made way more than I wanted it to plus is tasted like only tomato. There was no point to measuring the seasonings accurately since the only way to get past the tomato taste was to keep seasoning, then I ended up putting to much garlic in and had to throw it all out, what a waste...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
I thought I would give this recipe a try and unfortunately I found it to be too tomato based and I love tomatoes. I think the paste was a bit much. I tried to put more spices in it to lessen the tomato flavor, but it did not work. This also makes a large amount, so scale down all the indegredients to about half. Unless, you want to feed a large family. I will probably not make this meal again, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2001
This is a very satisfying meal. I scaled it down for 4 ppl and it still made a ton. I altered the recipe a little: no mushrooms or peas, I cooked the garlic with the meat and didn't have any parsley so I added a little oregano instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2001
This goulash tasted really good, but took quite a while to prepare. It makes a massive amount so it's a good thing it reheats well. My husband is a big goulash fan so I will probably make it again, but will definitely half the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANIELLE BEATTY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2001
This was an excellent dish. My husband could not get enough of it and it was a lot of food so we could easily freeze it and have an easy meal. Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
What a colorful dish. This turned out better than I had expected. I had to improvise based on what I had in my pantry. I scaled this to half and used one pound of ground beef, a can of diced tomatoes, mexican tomato sauce, a can of tomato soup and I did not have mushrooms. I didn't pre cook the pasta, I just added it in with the rest and let it simmer. Just add more water and this could have been vegetable beef soup. Thanks for a nice meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Goulash Supreme

Macaroni simmers with ground beef and onions in a spicy tomato sauce.

Classic Goulash

This American goulash is so tasty—and can be easily made in the slow cooker.

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States