Goulash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
Way too many ingrediants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Goleta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
This was a big hit with my family. I followed recommendations of using less tomato products so I cut it down to 26 1/2 oz. can of tomato sauce and 14.5 oz. of crushed tomatoes. That worked for me. I don't like cooked peas so I added frozen peas when the meat mixture was almost cooked. I didn't have green pepper so I substituted red pepper. I added 1 T. of chili pdr. to spice it up, next time I will increase it to 2 T. chili pdr. Thank you for submitting this recipe, I will definately prepare it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
This was good, quick, and not too expensive to make. I kind of halved the recipe. I used 8 ounces of macaroni, 1 lb of ground beef, only one can of tomato paste and sauce, and I didn't add the water. Everything else I pretty much left the same. I did use frozen peas though, since we're not too big on canned peas. I also threw in whatever seasoning I thought would be good, so I used some ground mustard, Italian seasoning, basil, and some crushed red pepper. I topped it with a little shredded cheddar and served it with some crusty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
I thought I would give this recipe a try and unfortunately I found it to be too tomato based and I love tomatoes. I think the paste was a bit much. I tried to put more spices in it to lessen the tomato flavor, but it did not work. This also makes a large amount, so scale down all the indegredients to about half. Unless, you want to feed a large family. I will probably not make this meal again, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
Sorry but thought it lacked flavor. Had to really doctor it up. Thanks for letting us try
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
BROUGHT THIS TO WORK FOR A POT LUCK AND EVERYONE RAVED ABOUT IT (AND I HAVE SEVERAL "FOOD SNOBS" THAT I WORK WITH SO THAT SAYS A LOT FOR THIS DISH.) I AM TAKING IT TO MY SONS APARTMENT AT COLLEGE - THE TRUE TEST - I'LL REPORT BACK
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2002
This made way more than I wanted it to plus is tasted like only tomato. There was no point to measuring the seasonings accurately since the only way to get past the tomato taste was to keep seasoning, then I ended up putting to much garlic in and had to throw it all out, what a waste...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2002
Made a large pot. However, it was rather bland for my taste. Would cut back on the tomato paste. I had to add more garlic, italian seasoning and oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2001
This was an excellent dish. My husband could not get enough of it and it was a lot of food so we could easily freeze it and have an easy meal. Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2001
This goulash tasted really good, but took quite a while to prepare. It makes a massive amount so it's a good thing it reheats well. My husband is a big goulash fan so I will probably make it again, but will definitely half the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANIELLE BEATTY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Goulash Supreme

Macaroni simmers with ground beef and onions in a spicy tomato sauce.

Classic Goulash

This American goulash is so tasty—and can be easily made in the slow cooker.

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States