Goulash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I really enjoyed tweaking this recipie based on the other reviews....It was sooo good! I omitted the paste...used tomato soup instead of the sauce, bout half cup of ketchup & no crused or stewed tomato but I did use about half can of diced tomato. After combining all the ingredients I topped off with cheddar cheese and baked for about 15/20 mins. Ummmmmmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cynthia Ross
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
I loved the bold, spicy flavors, mixed with rich tomato sauce. Used Johnsonville Sausage instead of beef. It added a little more flavor, and the end result was absolutely delicious! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beverly Hills, California, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Photo by Donna
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I omitted the stewed tomatoes and corn, increased the garlic(4 cloves), and it was a crowd pleaser! A perfect party meal served with garlic bread and arugala salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
This was a good starting point for what I was looking for but I made some major modifications and everything turned out perfect. After draining the ground beef, I seasoned it with salt and pepper as the recipe calls for, but also added about 2-3 tablespoons of Hungarian paprika. I used half of a 24 oz bag of large macaroni, eliminated the tomato paste, stewed tomatoes, mushrooms, peas and sugar completely. I only used one 8 oz can of tomato sauce instead of the 30 oz from the original recipe. Instead of the crushed tomatoes, I used one 15 oz can of diced tomatoes. I only used half of a bell pepper and half a 12 oz bag of frozen corn. I used italian seasoning instead of the parsley. I adjusted the 24 oz (3 cups) of water, increasing slightly to ensure enough liquid to keep the macaroni from sticking. The resulting dish had the right balance of beef to macaroni to tomato, with the taste I remember from my childhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I added a little italian seasoning for more flavor, everything else stayed the same, it was wonderful. Ive never ate goulash before, and this will be my go to recipe for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Love the peas and corn, nice touch. One can of tomato paste is all that is needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Way to much of a tomatoe base. Should of read the reviews first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Had it this evening. Cut back on the tomato paste (1 can) and use paprika and chili powder to taste. Lots of left overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
It was easy to make but I didn't find this dish to be very flavorful. I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
I really liked this dish, in fact it was hard not to have thirds. I followed some of the suggestions in the reviews, like eliminate the peas, tomato paste, 1 can of the tomato sauce, the water, and the sugar. I added a diced zucchini in with the beef/onion/peppers/mushrooms mix, and used one big can of San Marzano tomatoes instead of the stewed/diced tomato combo. It also needs more seasoning, in my opinion, so I added a heaping tablespoon of paprika, a tablespoon of oregano, and a generous amount of garlic salt. I cooked my macaroni separately but I suppose if you throw in the uncooked pasta into the goulash you can make this a one-pot dish, but you might want the extra water in that case. This recipe was quick to put together, relatively healthy with all the veggies in the mix, and downright tasty. Will definitely be working this one into the rotation at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Goulash Supreme

Macaroni simmers with ground beef and onions in a spicy tomato sauce.

Classic Goulash

This American goulash is so tasty—and can be easily made in the slow cooker.

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States