Goulash Supreme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
To be honest, I was pretty disappointed with the way it turned out, and it would have been an easy mistake to fix. Just cook the pasta separately! I considered doing this, but was afraid the pasta wouldn't take on the flavor or spices. Boy, was I wrong. By trying to cook the pasta in all of the ingredients, I had a gooey albeit tasty mess at the end. Save yourself the trouble: cook pasta and sauce separately and you will have an easy, tasty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
416 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
This was a great basic recipe for goulash, but seeing as how I have to always be tweaking recipes, I made the following changes: Instead of stewed tomatoes I used 1 can of diced tomatoes. I used a red onion as that was all I had on hand. I added a couple dashes of Worchestshire to give it more of a beefy flavor. Also added a dash of ground pepper and used whole wheat macaroni which I cooked seperately per package directions as there wasn't much cooking liquid in the goulash. I topped it off with some grated Romano cheese. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
304 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAF1969

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2003
One of my husband's favorite dinners. I made the macaroni(I only cooked about 1 cup of the macaroni) seperately and cooked the ground beef with the onions and spices. Put them all together and heated through. Since I made the macaroni seperately I used the 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes and an 8 oz can of tomato sauce. Also I had to add some salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
297 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
I liked this recipe, but did make a few changes. I cooked the pasta separately,added a little crushed red pepper flakes to give it a little kick. Then I poured it into a baking dish added cheese to the top. And put in the oven at 350 until the cheese melted. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bay Shore, New York, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2001
This was delicious! I used tomato sauce instead of paste and added some chopped green pepper and topped with grated cheese. We all like this even my picky teenager ate it! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
This didn't last long at my house ~ the boys ate 2-3 helpings each. Pretty good stuff. :-) It's a lot like the goulash my Mom used to make with the exception of the garlic and chili powder. I followed other reviewer's suggestions and cooked the garlic and onions in with the ground beef (which I seasoned with a little pepper, salt, chili powder, and paprika while it was browning). Aside from that, I followed the directions. The macaroni cooked up perfectly in the mixture. Thanks a bunch Cheryle ~ this one's going into the regular rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
i added a cup of green peppers and a cup of mushrooms (fresh); used a 28 oz. plus 14 oz. can of cut tomatoes; was very liberal on the spices, adding cayenne and cumin; and no tomato paste. i cooked the pasta in the pot with everything else- why clean something else when you don't have to? this dish turned out very flavorful- and SO easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
Boil water and prepare 6-8 oz of macaroni noodles according to directions on box. While noodles are cooking, heat 1 lb ground beef, 1/2 c green pepper diced, 1/2 c onion diced in a skillet. Drain fat. After meat is browned, add 2 tsp paprika, 1 TBS chili powder, 1/2 tsp garlic powder, 1-14 oz can Delmonte diced tomatoes (basil, garlic, oregano), 4 oz tomato paste, 2 TBS water, 1 1/2 TBS brown sugar, 1 TBS worcestershire sauce. Simmer for several more minutes then remove from heat. Mix in the cooked macaroni noodles and serve. Add a side of garlic bread for a great easy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Lawn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
This was a super simple and tasty dish. Similar to beefaroni. I added some frozen chopped green peppers and more garlic. I also used a 28 oz. can of diced tomatos w/ onions and peppers. I didn't use the paste. I added about 3/4 cup of water to help cook the noodles and let it simmer away. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2001
I didn't care for this at all but my husband loved it. The pasta comes out chewy when cooked in the sauce.. and the flavor is rather bland.. even with extra garlic and added red pepper. I may make this again because my husband liked it and because it was super easy, but I will cook the pasta in boiling water and add it after next time. I will also play with the spices a little more. I gave it three stars because hubby liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 330) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Goulash Supreme

Macaroni simmers with ground beef and onions in a spicy tomato sauce.

Classic Goulash

This American goulash is so tasty—and can be easily made in the slow cooker.

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States