Goulash Supreme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I love goulash....I always use chili beans in mine...yummo. Didn't try your recipe, just my input.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Very good- only changes were to add chunks of green pepper and an 8 oz. can of tomato sauce instead of optional paste. Note that two 14-1/2 oz. cans stewed tomatoes is about equal to a quart. Was a bit dry after adding dry macaroni- had to add about 1/2 cup of water extra, so next time will add another can of stewed tomatoes OR another small can of tomato sauce. Took about 20-25 minutes simmering with lid on to get macaroni tender, stirring occasionally. Why cook the macaroni separate, as other reviewers suggest? Was easier and less cleaning to just add to pot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I made this tonight and my husband had seconds. Therefore, 5 stars. I cut the recipe in half and we had enough left over for another serving. I didn't have stewed tomatoes, but did use 1 can tomato puree and 1 can diced tomatoes / green chiles. I read the comments about the pasta. I cooked all ingredients (except pasta) about 30 minutes, then added the pasta and kept checking for "doneness" . It took about 11 - 12 minutes for small macaroni; it would take more for larger pasta, like penne. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Pretty good. I'd add more water from the start or maybe add a can of beef broth next time. I added water a tablespoon at a time as directed and it wasn't enough to keep the macaroni and meat from burning a bit. I caught it in time, though. Overall, the recipe is good. It's really just chili with macaroni instead of beans. Doesn't take long and very satisfying on a cold winter's night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dommiedime

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I made this with 1 1/2 lbs of venison burger, and 2-3 Cups of cooked wheat macaroni. I used 2 cans of diced tomatoes and 6oz of tomato paste. I also added a can of kidney beans, and a sprinkling of white pepper and a dash of salt. YUM, YUM, YUM!!! If I could have made a bathtub full, I'd have been as happy as a pig in slop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This is very similar to the one my Mom always made minus the paprika and chili powder! I always boil the macaroni separately so it's not quite done as it continues to cook in the tomato sauce if you let it simmer awhile. I use a big can of tomato sauce and a couple of cans of either stewed or diced tomatoes. Sometimes the ones with Italian flavoring but LOVE the ones that have the garlic flavor added. Sometimes even the canned whole tomatoes! Lots of onion and extra garlic! Sprinkle a little grated parmesean cheese on top! This is one of my husbands favorites and always his request for his birthday meal! I am going to try adding the chili powder next time I make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This is almost identical to my recipe, only mine has a dash of worchestershire, and a few dashes of Tabasco, and the lady who taught me to make it over 50 years ago, told me to always use Hungarian Paprika. I don't measure the Paprika or Chili powder, but having made it for so many years, I just have the feel for it. She called it Hungarian Goulash. Good stuff!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I've been making this for 50 years! My mother called it "Chili mac".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Very similar to what I have made for years. Thanks for posting this one and now I am going to make it today! Suggest the focus be on the ingredients and the tasty or not result, not the name as a rating point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I use tomato juice and leave out the water and tomato sauce/paste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 330) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Goulash Supreme

Macaroni simmers with ground beef and onions in a spicy tomato sauce.

Classic Goulash

This American goulash is so tasty—and can be easily made in the slow cooker.

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States