Goulash Supreme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I grew up with a babysitter who would make this for lunch once or twice a week with a side of cheap white bread slathered with Gold-N-Soft margerine. A family favorite because it's freaking easy, filling and total comfort food. Couple twists we use to make it our own is add a couple tbsp. italian seasoning, brown sugar, and fire roasted tomatoes. Also good with whole wheat pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I give it a four star if you add your own preferred spices, a cup of water and some sugar to counteract the bitterness left behind by using tomato paste.Also adding a bit more veggies in this dish wouldn't hurt either. Without them, I would think it would be a very bland and way too thick meat sauce. So it would be only a 3 star for us at best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longueuil, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I took the idea of this recipies and made it my own. I added fresh tomaots instead of canned. Also added peas, peppers, and mushrooms. I also baked it with cheese. This recipie was alot of fun due to how much you can personalize it. Somthing you can just throw the leftovers into
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smyrah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
The recipe was OK but quite bland. I think next time I'll add some green chilis and cheddar cheese and probably forgo the tomato paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Lately I've been craving the goulash that was served in my school cafeteria growing up. I didn't modify any of the recipe and was surprised out how closely it tasted to what I remember. Nothing fancy, but it's satisfying, cheap, and is almost better leftover. I may add a little homemade tomato sauce next time so the leftovers aren't so dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
This is a pretty good basic recipe. I have tried it as is, and have tweaked it as well, and have found that I like this modification: instead of stewed tomatoes, I use one 15 oz can of tomato sauce and one 28 ounce can of diced tomatoes. I also add a tablespoon of Worcestershire sauce, 2 teaspoons of cooking wine, a teaspoon of kosher salt and another 1/4 cup of onion. After I drain the meat when it is just turned brown, I saute the garlic and onion in about a teaspoon of the fat until translucent and then add the meat back in to brown a little more. I add all the ingredients to the meat. I cook the macaroni separate until almost al dente and then let it cook gently in the ragu until it is softer and the residual water is gone. I find this makes a tasty goulash that adults and kids will like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHALOZBY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, New York, USA
Living In: Metuchen, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
This was ok. Very boring. Better leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I followed other reviewers' advice and pre-cooked the macaroni. Also, I sauteed the garlic and onion with the ground beef. It was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANIELLE BEATTY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
I had ground beef I needed to use and was looking for a good jumping off point, this was it. I read some reviews, and I cooked the macaroni separate, adding it in at the end, I didn't use paprika (didn't have any), and used garlic powder instead of fresh, and I used diced tomatoes instead of stewed. I also topped the whole thing with cheese and baked for 10 min at the end. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
This is a great base goulash recipe, but if you make it exactly to the recipe it's very bland. I used a 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes and a 14.5 oz can of kidney beans, both undrained. For the pasta I used 2 cups of medium egg noodles, cooked with the mixture for about 15 minutes. Needed LOTS of seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 326) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Goulash Supreme

Macaroni simmers with ground beef and onions in a spicy tomato sauce.

Classic Goulash

This American goulash is so tasty—and can be easily made in the slow cooker.

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States