Goulash Supreme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I've been making this dish for over 50 years and my three sons love it. The only difference is I put chopped green peppers in it and leave out the chili powder. However, my son who has a family of his own and loves to cook, does put chili powder in it. Great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I also add mozzerella
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Geena Donovan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I used 1 - 14.5 ounce can stewed tomatoes and 1 - 15 ounce can tomato sauce. I omitted the garlic and tomato paste. I added 3/4 cup water. I would absolutely make this again. Delicious and fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassie Walker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
This recipe is exactly as my mother made it! Rich delicious and perfect fora cold weather meal! Real stick to your ribs food! All the ingredients are perfect, however I always like it with a can of kernel-style corn thrown in. Also, you may consider cutting the tomato paste by half and always cook the pasta seperateely and you can eat it right away, as soon as the noodles are incorporated into the meat sauce! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nessiegrrl78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Delicious was all I could hear my husband and son telling me. I gave it 4 stars since the chili powder was a bit too much, will cut down on that next time. I browned my meat with the onions and garlic. Added tomatoes and seasoning - include s&p and simmered to let it cook down some and marry flavors. Made the macaroni separate and mixed together as I was serving. Definite on my menu!! Thanks Cheryle for such a good and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
I only gave it 4 starts due to me adding/changing a couple of things. I used less paprika, more chili powder and added some green pepper to it. I also less stewed tomatoes. The tomato paste is a must for me. It had a lot of flavor! You definately want to cook the macaroni seperately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
This is a great starter recipe for goulash, but it was a bit bland for my family's taste. I use ground turkey instead of beef. Then, I use diced tomatoes and celery for more texture, dijion mustard, cumin and cayenne for kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
This was regretably forgettable for me (sorry!). Not only was this nothing like any goulash I've ever had, it was bland (I could not detect ANY spice whatsoever), WAAY too tomatoey and had an odd texture that I just couldn't get past. For starters, I think diced tomatoes would be a FAR better choice here. The only stewed tomatoes I could find at my well-stocked grocery store were sliced ones (I have never seen them sold any other way). Unless you coarsely cut into bite-sized pieces beforehand, you'll end up with HUGE tomato chunks that overpower the entire dish. Second, the addition of tomato paste made this far too thick (and as mentioned earlier, tomatoey). My last complaint is that my pasta took more than DOUBLE the amount of time to cook thru (and it still was nothing like properly cooked pasta). I should have known better..... Without the addition of water (more than a T or two as suggested), there is no way that you will end up with a saucy dish. This doesn't cook long enough to allow the stewed tomatoes to break down (into a sauce) and if you add paste, you'll end up with an over-concentrated, pasty mess. Maybe this will float your boat, but it certainly didn't mine. Thanks anyways, Cheryle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
I grew up on this, and occasionaly still make this for my family. We never add the tomato paste and use garlic powder. I usually keep diced tomatoes on hand because i prefer them over the stewed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
This was a really simple recipe and came out very delicious. I did change it up a bit in order to work with what I had in the kitchen. I used 2 cans of diced tomatoes and half a can of left over spaghetti sauce in place of the stewed tomatoes and tomato paste. I also cooked my macaroni noodles first, drained them, added them back to the pot and then put in the remainder of the ingredients. Cooking time took about 15 to 20 minutes. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimmerZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 338) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Goulash Supreme

Macaroni simmers with ground beef and onions in a spicy tomato sauce.

Classic Goulash

This American goulash is so tasty—and can be easily made in the slow cooker.

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States