Goulash Supreme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
This is a great starter recipe for goulash, but it was a bit bland for my family's taste. I use ground turkey instead of beef. Then, I use diced tomatoes and celery for more texture, dijion mustard, cumin and cayenne for kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
This was regretably forgettable for me (sorry!). Not only was this nothing like any goulash I've ever had, it was bland (I could not detect ANY spice whatsoever), WAAY too tomatoey and had an odd texture that I just couldn't get past. For starters, I think diced tomatoes would be a FAR better choice here. The only stewed tomatoes I could find at my well-stocked grocery store were sliced ones (I have never seen them sold any other way). Unless you coarsely cut into bite-sized pieces beforehand, you'll end up with HUGE tomato chunks that overpower the entire dish. Second, the addition of tomato paste made this far too thick (and as mentioned earlier, tomatoey). My last complaint is that my pasta took more than DOUBLE the amount of time to cook thru (and it still was nothing like properly cooked pasta). I should have known better..... Without the addition of water (more than a T or two as suggested), there is no way that you will end up with a saucy dish. This doesn't cook long enough to allow the stewed tomatoes to break down (into a sauce) and if you add paste, you'll end up with an over-concentrated, pasty mess. Maybe this will float your boat, but it certainly didn't mine. Thanks anyways, Cheryle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
I grew up on this, and occasionaly still make this for my family. We never add the tomato paste and use garlic powder. I usually keep diced tomatoes on hand because i prefer them over the stewed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
This was a really simple recipe and came out very delicious. I did change it up a bit in order to work with what I had in the kitchen. I used 2 cans of diced tomatoes and half a can of left over spaghetti sauce in place of the stewed tomatoes and tomato paste. I also cooked my macaroni noodles first, drained them, added them back to the pot and then put in the remainder of the ingredients. Cooking time took about 15 to 20 minutes. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimmerZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
I am pleasantly surprised by this dish. I omitted the macaroni as we are on a low-carb diet and made the rest per the recipe. It is very rich and has hints of sweetness (which surprised me as a lot of tomato based dishes tend to be a little sour/bitter). It is also very rich in part due to the addition of the 6 oz of tomato paste. I might have preferred it better if it had less tomato paste, perhaps 3 oz instead of 6. Other than that, I wouldn't change a thing. Very easy dinner to prepare, great for times when you are too tired to whip up a meal. Thank you for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I've been trying to find a goulash recipe like the one my Mom made when we were kids and this was the closest I've found. I liked it and will try some small tweaks next time to try and get it just a bit closer to her recipe, but this is a definite keeper. I didn't change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by may2mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I love this Goulash recipe, its easy and quick and is perfect for a rainy day. I ran out of chilli powder so I replaced it with taco seasoning. I also added a few table spoons of chicken stock instead of water and as other reviewers had suggested I prepared the pasta (I used egg noodles) separately. I also add a dollop of sour cream to the top of the dish right before serving, which adds a wonderful flavor. This was thick and delicious and I will definitely make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
used beef broth instead of water. add hot sauce and its perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gavin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Very easy to make. I cooked the pasta in water and added it to the meat/tomato sauce. I let the goulash simmer for 40 minutes. It wasn't my favorite flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
My family loved it. I cooked the noodles first added extra fresh garlic and chopped onion. I used 1 small can of stewed tomatoes and a small can of diced tomatoes with celery, onion and garlic mixed in. All my boys went back for seconds. It was quick easy and will be in the monthly menu rotation. The best part was I already had all the ingredients already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mjmmisty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Goulash Supreme

Macaroni simmers with ground beef and onions in a spicy tomato sauce.

Classic Goulash

This American goulash is so tasty—and can be easily made in the slow cooker.

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States