Goulash Supreme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by McBacon
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
This is good- but it needs a good cup of water and I would use 1/2 the chili powder next time. I used bow ties and Italian style tomatoes- I chopped my tomatoes up a bit with my spoon because they were big pieces and I used Italian style. I think it could use a bit of sweetness, but over all it's a good meal :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This was o.k. I made a few changes, I used cloves garlic and added some cumin. I also cooked the pasta seperatly. I cooked the garlic, and onion with the meat and also added salt and pepper. Once that was done I used diced stewed tomatoes which I mashed so it wouldn't be so chucky. I'm going to make this again only I'm going to fiddle with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yadikeith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Used pureed fire-roasted tomatoes instead of tomato sauce and rotel instead of diced. Really good flavor, maybe needs a little more spices. It would be easy to sneak in veggies and no one would realize it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Great recipe. Yes, it may be a little bland, but it is a classic comfort food recipe. Reminds me of the goulash I had as a child with home-canned tomatoes. I've made it with and without the tomato paste and I prefer it without. The key to this recipe is to add a little water if needed, do not overcook the noodles, and add salt & pepper to taste. There is no need to cook the noodles separately, just keep checking them to make sure they don't get overcooked & mushy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Webster City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
Good recipe other than the pasta was mushy so I'd look separately and add salt & pepper to taste. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
This was ok. I actually added some corn and used one can of rotel instead of the tomatoes. Tomatoe sauce instead of paste. Not bad but nothing great actually. Will only make again in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaze

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I grew up with a babysitter who would make this for lunch once or twice a week with a side of cheap white bread slathered with Gold-N-Soft margerine. A family favorite because it's freaking easy, filling and total comfort food. Couple twists we use to make it our own is add a couple tbsp. italian seasoning, brown sugar, and fire roasted tomatoes. Also good with whole wheat pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I give it a four star if you add your own preferred spices, a cup of water and some sugar to counteract the bitterness left behind by using tomato paste.Also adding a bit more veggies in this dish wouldn't hurt either. Without them, I would think it would be a very bland and way too thick meat sauce. So it would be only a 3 star for us at best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longueuil, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I took the idea of this recipies and made it my own. I added fresh tomaots instead of canned. Also added peas, peppers, and mushrooms. I also baked it with cheese. This recipie was alot of fun due to how much you can personalize it. Somthing you can just throw the leftovers into
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smyrah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
The recipe was OK but quite bland. I think next time I'll add some green chilis and cheddar cheese and probably forgo the tomato paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Lewis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 342) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Goulash Supreme

Macaroni simmers with ground beef and onions in a spicy tomato sauce.

Classic Goulash

This American goulash is so tasty—and can be easily made in the slow cooker.

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States