Goulash Supreme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
It was a cheap easy meal that filled our bellies. Other than that though, it was not anything to rave about. I cooked the pasta separately and added a few more spices and it was still bland. We are happy to be full, but I won't be making this for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quincy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Very good! Everyone in the family really liked it. Very easy and very quick to make. I recommend adding the tomato paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Up here in New England, we call this "American Chop Suey." I cook a big batch of it in a 6 ½ quart Dutch oven on the stove. I brown 2 lbs. of lean ground chuck with finely chopped garlic, chopped vidalia onion and red pepper flakes. Then I add a 32oz. carton of Swanson beef broth, a 28oz. can of good quality petite diced tomatoes (Hunt's or Cento) with a 28oz can of crushed tomatoes. I add spices like Italian seasoning, bay leaf, black pepper and a couple of Tbs. of soy sauce. I let it simmer for 20 minutes, (covered) then add chopped bell peppers and another chopped vidalia onion. Let simmer (covered) for another 10 minutes then add raw elbow macaroni. Simmer 5 minutes more then turn off the heat and let stand, covered, for 15 minutes. The macaroni absorbs the the broth and comes out perfectly Al dente, along with the pepper and onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I use a can of rotel instead of stewed tomatoes to spice it up a little and I add a can of red beans, can of corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
forgot the hot sauce!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Granville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I use Hunts tomato sauce 28 or 32 oz and 1 sm. can of diced tomatoes and 1 glove minched garlic. I also add a good size chunk of veleveeta cheese (1/3 of a small box of velveeta) I also cook an entire 1 lb. box of pasta then add to the sauce. I know, more like Italian Goulsah than Hungarian, but the taste is much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I love goulash....I always use chili beans in mine...yummo. Didn't try your recipe, just my input.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Very good- only changes were to add chunks of green pepper and an 8 oz. can of tomato sauce instead of optional paste. Note that two 14-1/2 oz. cans stewed tomatoes is about equal to a quart. Was a bit dry after adding dry macaroni- had to add about 1/2 cup of water extra, so next time will add another can of stewed tomatoes OR another small can of tomato sauce. Took about 20-25 minutes simmering with lid on to get macaroni tender, stirring occasionally. Why cook the macaroni separate, as other reviewers suggest? Was easier and less cleaning to just add to pot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I made this tonight and my husband had seconds. Therefore, 5 stars. I cut the recipe in half and we had enough left over for another serving. I didn't have stewed tomatoes, but did use 1 can tomato puree and 1 can diced tomatoes / green chiles. I read the comments about the pasta. I cooked all ingredients (except pasta) about 30 minutes, then added the pasta and kept checking for "doneness" . It took about 11 - 12 minutes for small macaroni; it would take more for larger pasta, like penne. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Pretty good. I'd add more water from the start or maybe add a can of beef broth next time. I added water a tablespoon at a time as directed and it wasn't enough to keep the macaroni and meat from burning a bit. I caught it in time, though. Overall, the recipe is good. It's really just chili with macaroni instead of beans. Doesn't take long and very satisfying on a cold winter's night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dommiedime

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 326) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Goulash Supreme

Macaroni simmers with ground beef and onions in a spicy tomato sauce.

Classic Goulash

This American goulash is so tasty—and can be easily made in the slow cooker.

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States