Goulash I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
This a fantastic, quick dish. I added a can of tomatoes to the recipe. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Robinson Aleksovski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chadbourn, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
Quick and easy, but Hubby and I found it only fair. Relatively bland, and somewhat dry, but VERY filling! Leftovers reheated well, but were drier than the first night. Next time I would add more sauce, and move everything into a bigger pot (my largest skillet was over flowing!). Also, make sure you allow the ingredients to heat through at the end. Recipe doesn't tell you to do it, but if you don't the corn and beans will be cold. I'd advise allowing to simmer, covered for 3 or more minutes before adding hot noodles. Next recipe from this person should have more specific directions (i.e.: should you drain and wash the canned beans?).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2006
This was good for me, hubby thought it was okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glasgow, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Ringgold, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
I'm not a big goulash fan, but I was looking for something quick and hearty for dinner (while using what I had in the kitchen). I changed the recipe for 3 servings and played around with the ingredients a little bit, and here's what I came up with...substituted dried onions for fresh, left out corn and beans, added 2 cloves fresh minced garlic & about 1/4 tsp garlic salt(I love garlic!), didn't have tomato soup so I used half can Rotel tomatoes & peppers, half cup tomato sauce, 1 tsp tomato boullion w/chicken flavoring, added one can green beans, about two tablespoons of fresh chopped parsley, about 1/4 tsp Hungarian paprika, 1/4 tsp chili powder, 1/4 tsp cumin, 1/4 tsp oregano, & 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper, salt & pepper to taste. After browning meat and adding ingredients, I simmered covered for 10 minutes. I don't eat noodles, but I'll bet it would taste excellent over the egg noodles suggested in the recipe. I would recommend this recipe to anyone, especially if you are willing to add your own special touch. Hope you try it and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOWLEROPOLIS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waveland, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Crestview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
This was good, but not the best. I used green beans instead of corn and i left out the kidney beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
This is a little too bland and dry for my taste. I may try it again with stewed tomatoes and more sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2004
Everyone enjoyed this very easy recipe and I will certainly make it again and possibly add some fresh thyme to enhance the flavor a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2004
This is a really great recipe for goulash. It adds some new twists to an old dish and has a lot of flavor. I substituted the garlic salt with onion salt and garlic powder (because I didn't have garlic salt on hand) and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2004
I combined this recipe with the Goulash Supreme recipe on this site. I didn't use corn or tomato soup (personal preference); that's where the other recipe came in. This is very hearty and filling. The kidney beans make it a little like chili. My mom doesn't make it that way, but I find that it is a good flavor and texture addition. This seems like a pretty flexible dish, and great for making a big batch and freezing for lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2004
Very simple and easy to make, however if I were to make it again, I would add an extra 1/2 lb. of gr. beef, a little more garlic salt then usual. I added an extra can of tomatoe soup because it seemed a little dry in the cooking process...tasted pretty good with it! Might add a little spaghetti sauce in there (1/2 c. or so) and I might try spiral macaroni next time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Goulash Supreme

Macaroni simmers with ground beef and onions in a spicy tomato sauce.

Classic Goulash

This American goulash is so tasty—and can be easily made in the slow cooker.

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States