Goulash I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Fairly decent base recipe, but a bit bland. Customized to our taste by adding 1/2lb more beef, an extra can of soup, 1 diced zucchini, 1 diced summer squash, 1 can diced fire roasted tomatoes(drained) and 1tbsp minced garlic Also added paprika, oregano and a bit of chili powder. Pretty good after the changes, especially when low on time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
The recipe as-is is too dry. I had to add a lot more tomato sauce and some milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by megadita

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
this is the best. My husband grew up on Goulash and I never had the recipe until now. He said this is better than what his mom made. Kudos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lanette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
This is a great, simple recipe. I used stewed tomatoes instead of tomato soup because it's what I had on hand. I also boiled a beef bouillion cube in a cup of water and simmered all of the ingredients for another 10 minutes. My family really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CAFFEINEDANCER
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
This was a pretty good meal. My favorite part was that it was cheap and easy! I added cumin, corriander, and chili powder as well as milk and ketchup to make it creamier and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
My mom has been making this dish forever and she name it after my brother: Eric's favorite casserole (He's in his late 40's now!). She doesn't add the beans or the garlic salt but will also add an extra can of soup if it seems a little dry. Then she bakes it for an hour at 325 deg., covered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
Good quick and easy recipe. It was a hit! I spiced it up a bit by adding oregano, chili powder, onion powder, and garlic powder with the ground beef. I also added one zucchini diced, one can of whole tomatoes diced, two cups of water and then simmered for 10 extra minutes. It turned out amazing! I already have requests to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
I love this recipe! Its so quick and easy to throw together when you dont feel like cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
Bland, bland, bland. I used frozen peas and corn for my veggies, and subbed ground turkey since we don't eat beef, but this dish was not great. I quadrupled the spices, even used fresh garlic, and added some cayenne for spice and dry mustard, but no matter what I did it just tasted flat. It was easy to make, but I would rather take the time to make something we actually enjoy eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
I tried this last night without the beans or corn and added green pepper. My family loved it. Thanks for the idea, I had no idea what to make last night and this helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Goulash Supreme

Macaroni simmers with ground beef and onions in a spicy tomato sauce.

Classic Goulash

This American goulash is so tasty—and can be easily made in the slow cooker.

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States