Goulash I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2004
I combined this recipe with the Goulash Supreme recipe on this site. I didn't use corn or tomato soup (personal preference); that's where the other recipe came in. This is very hearty and filling. The kidney beans make it a little like chili. My mom doesn't make it that way, but I find that it is a good flavor and texture addition. This seems like a pretty flexible dish, and great for making a big batch and freezing for lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2001
Great recipe! I made it with ground turkey, which made it a little dry - I simply added some milk at the end to make it creamy. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2004
This is a really great recipe for goulash. It adds some new twists to an old dish and has a lot of flavor. I substituted the garlic salt with onion salt and garlic powder (because I didn't have garlic salt on hand) and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
I'm not a big goulash fan, but I was looking for something quick and hearty for dinner (while using what I had in the kitchen). I changed the recipe for 3 servings and played around with the ingredients a little bit, and here's what I came up with...substituted dried onions for fresh, left out corn and beans, added 2 cloves fresh minced garlic & about 1/4 tsp garlic salt(I love garlic!), didn't have tomato soup so I used half can Rotel tomatoes & peppers, half cup tomato sauce, 1 tsp tomato boullion w/chicken flavoring, added one can green beans, about two tablespoons of fresh chopped parsley, about 1/4 tsp Hungarian paprika, 1/4 tsp chili powder, 1/4 tsp cumin, 1/4 tsp oregano, & 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper, salt & pepper to taste. After browning meat and adding ingredients, I simmered covered for 10 minutes. I don't eat noodles, but I'll bet it would taste excellent over the egg noodles suggested in the recipe. I would recommend this recipe to anyone, especially if you are willing to add your own special touch. Hope you try it and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOWLEROPOLIS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waveland, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Crestview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2000
this is great to serve up when there is a good movie or game on t.v. dont forget plenty of cheese and garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2000
for a quick and easy meal to prepare this is great, tastes good to....thanks kristi
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2000
This was a quick satisfying meal. Trin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2000
Greta quick recipe for working mothers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2001
first real dish that i have ever made. things went very smoothly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2001
Also great with green pepper and can substitute rice for the egg noodles! Tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Goulash Supreme

Macaroni simmers with ground beef and onions in a spicy tomato sauce.

Classic Goulash

This American goulash is so tasty—and can be easily made in the slow cooker.

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States