Goulash I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Fairly decent base recipe, but a bit bland. Customized to our taste by adding 1/2lb more beef, an extra can of soup, 1 diced zucchini, 1 diced summer squash, 1 can diced fire roasted tomatoes(drained) and 1tbsp minced garlic Also added paprika, oregano and a bit of chili powder. Pretty good after the changes, especially when low on time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
The recipe as-is is too dry. I had to add a lot more tomato sauce and some milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by megadita

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
this is the best. My husband grew up on Goulash and I never had the recipe until now. He said this is better than what his mom made. Kudos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lanette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
This is a great, simple recipe. I used stewed tomatoes instead of tomato soup because it's what I had on hand. I also boiled a beef bouillion cube in a cup of water and simmered all of the ingredients for another 10 minutes. My family really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CAFFEINEDANCER
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
This was a pretty good meal. My favorite part was that it was cheap and easy! I added cumin, corriander, and chili powder as well as milk and ketchup to make it creamier and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
My mom has been making this dish forever and she name it after my brother: Eric's favorite casserole (He's in his late 40's now!). She doesn't add the beans or the garlic salt but will also add an extra can of soup if it seems a little dry. Then she bakes it for an hour at 325 deg., covered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
Good quick and easy recipe. It was a hit! I spiced it up a bit by adding oregano, chili powder, onion powder, and garlic powder with the ground beef. I also added one zucchini diced, one can of whole tomatoes diced, two cups of water and then simmered for 10 extra minutes. It turned out amazing! I already have requests to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
I love this recipe! Its so quick and easy to throw together when you dont feel like cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
Bland, bland, bland. I used frozen peas and corn for my veggies, and subbed ground turkey since we don't eat beef, but this dish was not great. I quadrupled the spices, even used fresh garlic, and added some cayenne for spice and dry mustard, but no matter what I did it just tasted flat. It was easy to make, but I would rather take the time to make something we actually enjoy eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
I tried this last night without the beans or corn and added green pepper. My family loved it. Thanks for the idea, I had no idea what to make last night and this helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Goulash Supreme

Macaroni simmers with ground beef and onions in a spicy tomato sauce.

Classic Goulash

This American goulash is so tasty—and can be easily made in the slow cooker.

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States