Gouda Spinach Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Jazze0712
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This was my first quiche I used smoked gouda because it is the only one I have tried. I added cayenne pepper, used skim milk instead of the half and half. Added some Monterrey Jack cheese (1/4) and mushrooms. This was delicious and will be added to my recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Avon, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
This was the first quiche I have ever eaten or made, so I wanted to make sure I'd like it by loading it with cheese and bacon: I used 6 oz fresh spinach (coarsely chopped to make the pieces smaller), 2 cups smoked Gouda, about 10 oz of bacon, 3 eggs, and 1 cup of soy milk vice 2 cups half and half. I skipped the first step because I used a frozen pie crust -- I preheated the baking sheet and put the prepared quiche on that. It came out great, and my friends asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This dish was delish! I did make some changes: I don't know what it means to trim and flute the edge, so I didn't. I did use Pillsbury deep dish pie crust, so maybe the trip and flute part wasn't needed. Idk. My husband thinks he doesn't like onions, so I pureed them first. I also added extra spinach, which meant that I wasn't able to add all of the cream/egg mixture. Since I didn't have any bacon on hand, I used smoked chicken sausage. My guess is that this dish would go well with any meat you have in your fridge. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Had to cook an extra 15 minutes. Pretty good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
We really loved the flavours in this recipe. Had to make a few adjustments in the recipe as mentioned by others. What was important for me is that the smoked gouda I used was a really nice change from the more traditional cheddar/swiss combo I normally use, and the spinach was a good addition too. The flavours together ensure that I will make this again. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anichka5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carson City, Nevada, USA
Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I grabbed smoked Gouda by accident and used it anyway. It was wonderful! I left out the bacon, added sliced fresh mushrooms and used a bag of fresh "baby" spinach. I made a whole wheat "ice water" crust. Only needed three jumbo eggs. The man who hates spinach ate it happily AND finished off the left overs the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinkate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
I made this for my daughter home from school and it was delicious. I added Asiago along with the Gouda and it turned out splendid. Rich Creamy Texture. Great blend of flavors... I also substituted the bacon with turkey bacon... YUMMY and DELICIOUS...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
This is a great quiche! The spinach should really be pressed, to get the excess moisture out...but even without doing that the flavor was awesome! It is definitely enough to make 2 quiches. I used 2c. of the gouda cheese and ham instead of the bacon. Had enough egg mixture left over to make a second quiche. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
Just made this for a shower and it was great! A couple of recommendations when shopping. If you are buying the bags of spinach(11oz.), you will only need 1-1.5 bags. Also, buy the deep dish pie pans in the freezer section for ease. I think the shallow pans are no where near deep enough. I also added mushrooms for an extra ingredient. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
Yummy. Cooked it for guests and they requested the recipe since they liked it so much. Cooking time took more than recipe stated. I would probably add less cream the next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States