'Got Some Crust' Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
Mmm this was tasty. I made a few changes like added some sundried tomatoes, red pepper flakes and basil. It added a great kick to the dish. Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
This is excellent! The only difference in the one i made is that i used regular pepper instead of white pepper, crushed saltines instead of bread crumbs (b/c i didn't have any)...and i also added about a cup or so of frozen mixed vegetables to it. It was soooo yummy! I'll definitley be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
This was OK. I did like the crispy topping, but the cheese sauce was not as creamy as I would like it. Also did not think this would serve 12 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northport, New York, USA
Living In: East Northport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
I really liked the flavor of this, but the breadcumbs definitely dried it out. I will make this again, but I will reduce the breadcumb mixture - just sprinkling a very thin layer over the top for texture. In my opinion, the recipe calls for too much of the topping and takes away from the cheesiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ginny Steward
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
THE best Mac and Cheese I've EVER had! I didn't have white pepper so I used black pepper, or tobasco, I used Red Hot buffalo sauce...it was delish! I can see me making this often. Can't wait to see how the leftovers reheat. Mmmmm...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginny Steward
Home Town: North Adams, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Robin
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I just made this recipe using Extra-Old White Cheddar instead of regular cheddar and it was divine. I threw a few sliced cherry tomatoes on the top and I think that really helped with the dryness some people have mentioned. I would however recommend cutting the salt in half for this recipe, it's a little bit too salty for my liking. I'll definitely make this again! MmmmMmmmm Deeeelish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
First off, I made this for my parents last night -- my father, who is not a big macaroni and cheese fan, LOVED this. I did make some changes however. As another reviewer did, I used crushed Saltine crackers instead of bread crumbs -- I think this added an extra yummy flavor. The cheese I used were a bit different. I used Romano instead of Parmesan, and I also added about a cup of mozzarella. After I put the cracker crumb/cheese mixture on top, i brushed with butter for a little added moisture. It was delicious -- no leftovers, and they already want me to make it again one day later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aqua Eyes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Elmira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
It is now a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catldy79

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I admit it--I left out the onions! Just too big a departure for me I guess :) We liked this. I reduced the overall butter in this recipe to 2 tbsp, which I used to make the roux. It doesn't need the butter anywhere else (though naturally, it TASTES better if you use butter where indicated.) I added some pre-cooked bacon bits in with the topping, and sprayed the topping with Pam, but really it needed a little butter in the topping (and not in the other places!) to moisten the bread crumbs. I'll make this again, we really liked the blend of spices in this one. P.S. If you're having trouble with graininess, make sure you DO NOT BOIL THE CHEESE SAUCE. That creates the graininess. In fact you can turn the heat off at the point where you add the cheeses to melt them, the residual heat will do the job without any risk of boiling. Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
A good basic recipe for Mac and Cheese, with a few wonderful additions! I enjoyed the addition of onions, but I also added fresh garlic to the mix. I agree with others that I don't prefer the grainy taste of cheddar cheese, so perhaps I'll do a white cheddar cheese next time. The topping didn't add much, in our opinion, but it was still good. Kids are eating it, so that's all that matters!! I like to try recipes as they are before I slip in healthy additions, but like Lambchop's Mom, I'll slip in some veggies in there next time. I usually slip in ones that match the color of whatever I'm making, so they don't notice them there. I'll chop it up in my Vita-Mix blender, which gets it real fine, and then slip it in the mix. Kids hardly ever notice! I'll make this again in the sense that I'll add what we like, take from other recipes we like, and add our healthy goodies to make our own homemade Mac and Cheese. :) Thank you, Gallis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States