'Got Some Crust' Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Loved it! Left out the breadcrumbs and put extra cheese inside. It was perfect! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mableton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
The sauce was really tasty and I loved the crunch from the breadcrumb topping. However, there was too much breadcrumb and the sauce wasn't creamy enough. I would add more milk and way downsize the amount of breadcrumbs. I skipped the onions, but added onion and garlic powders, and it turned out really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMQ
Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
I made this last night for me and my boyfriend. I made half the amount of the recipe, and I used a blend of cheddar and mozzarella, but other than that I followed the recipe exactly. I enjoyed it but I found it a little bit bland and I thought there was too much of the breadcrumbs. My boyfriend on the other hand really liked it, and he is a very picky eater (I was surprised he ate it seeing as how it wasn’t Kraft dinner). I would definitely make it again but I think I would use a stronger cheese then I did. I would also maybe try adding in peas or something to add another texture and flavour to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Very good! I followed the advice of some of the other reviewers and added a little butter to the top for the last five minutes of cooking. Also I ran out of cheddar cheese, so I used some montery jack....very tasty! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Woohoo this was delicious! I've been using another Mac & Cheese recipe from this site for awhile, but I wanted to try a new one. This is my new go to Mac & Cheese recipe!! The only changes I made were adding some chopped red & green peppers, a few cloves of minced garlic and a little swiss cheese for some extra creaminess!! This was also easier to make than other cheese sauces! Everyone should give this a try! PS~I agree with one of the other reviewers. There was no way this could feed 12, at least not in my family! I cut the recipe in half, but my husband and I alone did not leave any leftovers. That would mean together we ate 6 servings...I certainly don't think we did! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty Darnell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gurnee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Burlington, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
Mmm this was tasty. I made a few changes like added some sundried tomatoes, red pepper flakes and basil. It added a great kick to the dish. Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
This is excellent! The only difference in the one i made is that i used regular pepper instead of white pepper, crushed saltines instead of bread crumbs (b/c i didn't have any)...and i also added about a cup or so of frozen mixed vegetables to it. It was soooo yummy! I'll definitley be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
This was OK. I did like the crispy topping, but the cheese sauce was not as creamy as I would like it. Also did not think this would serve 12 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northport, New York, USA
Living In: East Northport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
I really liked the flavor of this, but the breadcumbs definitely dried it out. I will make this again, but I will reduce the breadcumb mixture - just sprinkling a very thin layer over the top for texture. In my opinion, the recipe calls for too much of the topping and takes away from the cheesiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ginny in Mass
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
THE best Mac and Cheese I've EVER had! I didn't have white pepper so I used black pepper, or tobasco, I used Red Hot buffalo sauce...it was delish! I can see me making this often. Can't wait to see how the leftovers reheat. Mmmmm...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginny in Mass
Home Town: North Adams, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States