Gorton (French-Canadian Pork Spread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Yes in New England we call it gorton. My pepere was French Canadian and my memere made this every Christmas in large batches, put them into tupperware containers and gave them away as gifts. Everyone loved her gorton. In my mind it is not Christmas without it! This is almost exactly like her recipe except she used allspice instead of the cloves and nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
My mom made this when I was growing up in Maine. She died when I was 22 (I'm 65 now) and had never written her recipes down. I just discovered this recipe yesterday watching an episode of Drive Ins, Diners and Dives and am making it right this minute. I hope it's just like hers - it sure smells like it. Wow - this is really something... I could just cry. We just ate in on toast and it was wonderful. Over the years, I thought it was "head cheese" and was put off by it so I never bothered to look it up on the internet. I am so grateful to have found it. Can't wait to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I grew up on this and over the years, living in the US the last 40 years, I simply forgot about it. Well I out of the blue had a craving for! On a whim decided to see if anyone had a recipe for it so I thank you so much for posting! We Kanucks also called it cretons, but whatever you call it, it's awesome! Merci!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hank

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
A very dear friend and "second Mom" introduced this wonderful spread to me 45 years ago. She has long since passed and she was heavy on my mind a couple weeks ago and the "cahhton" came to mind. I asked some French co-workers if they knew what it was ( I wasn't even sure if that was what I was remembering!) no one knew. Trusty ol' computer; typed in French meat spread and there it was!! Couldn't believe it!! Went out an bought the ingredients and the smell of it cooking brought me back to the little kitchen and that wonderful little lady so many, many years ago. Thank you Lil1, I will be making this every week and never forget it again. Thank you, thank you, thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
This is amazing. My oldest son's grandpa used to make this from whole pork shoulder and at least one other cut of pork. He cooked them forever. When it came to the rest of the preparation no one was allowed to be there. It truly was a secret family recipe. He promised to write it down one day. :( Unfortunately,neither he or his wife ever did. My son, now 45 years old and I are going to try this for sure. Thank you Lil1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fungrammy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Snoqualmie, Washington, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
my hubby loves it ...he grew up having this at 'camp' ...needless to say it's very nostalgic for him ...he loves coming in and smelling this simmering on the woodstove ....likes it for breakfast on toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
This is very similar to my Mom & Memere's recipe. I am making some right now. The only thing is that I buy my ground pork already kind of fatty already. If it looks lean I just don't make any. My Mom has pork butts ground up. So we don't buy seperate pork fat. Anyhow, also we do not add the ground cloves, nutmeg and also a little cinnamon in until the last 10 mins. of cooking. And I have found that if I cook it way to much it has a dried out flavor. Don't confuse the melted fat in there with the water. I kept cooking to try to reduce the "water" before I realized it was liquid fat. Now after 20 or so years making it myself I feel confident that it will come out great. (Nobody ever measured, so I had to experiment.) Also, we add cinnamon. Use one of those electric hand blenders while it cools down a bit in the pan before pouring into containers to cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen Ordway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
- The art of making Cretons has been handed-down in my family for 6 generations (french canadian), and I continue to be amazed at all the recipe variations and names for this spreadable delicacy. :-) Hints: don't underestimate the need to use a potato masher (vigorously, against the bottom of the pan) every 15mins in an effort to create a spreadable end product. And, ensure a pot of simmering water on the stove when adding water to the cretons. It's important to add hot water vs. water from the tap. I sincerely hope this is helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
This was also a Christmas recipe my Grammy used to make. Here kids would fight over who got to take the leftovers home. I make it in a crockpot with a bone in boston butt. Yellow onions, salt & pepper cinnamon and ground clove 1/4 tsp per lb. pour in a few cups of water and cook on high til the bone pulls right out about 8-10 hours. Drain most of the water and Mash with electric mixer. Spoon into Pyrex dishes and refrigerate for at least 4 hours. Made this last thanksgiving in MASS. And had a bunch of frenchies (I'm a Beaulieu) saying this was the best they have had. It's great on Hawaiian sweet rolls
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Beaulieu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Heart attack on toast lol But I love this. My french candiadian mil who lived in manchester nh called it Gutons and the local little markets sold it as the same name. May have the spelling wrong but you can't forget the yummy taste. Divorced the husband but kept the gutons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyndi Lenz
Home Town: Jensen Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Barbeque-Bacon Party Spread

See how to make a creamy, cheesy dip with some kick.

Crispy Pork Belly

See how to make easy, crispy pork belly at home.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States