Gorgonzola Stuffed Chicken Breasts Wrapped in Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 9, 2012
pretty much the same as previous comments: having done quite a few bacon wrapped chicken things in the past....if you use raw bacon around the chicken it takes so long for the bacon to crisp up that the chicken is then overdone. Partially cook the bacon first. And I also do better with just putting the chicken in the pan and laying the bacon on top...that way you don't have crispy bacon on top and soggy bacon on the bottom. And like the other posters....I liked it better sweating the garlic and shallot in a little olive oil first for a less sharp flavor. If you look at the photo of the dish....the bacon definitely does not look cooked through. The cheese: i used the gorgonzola for hubby and I as we like it and used goat cheese for my daughter as she likes that but not blue cheese.*a note about leftovers: the chicken breasts I used were big and we had leftovers. I chopped it up (bacon bits and all) tossed with a little mayo and made chicken salad out of em. This makes REALLY GOOD chicken salad....it is even better than the hot version......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michele McCormick
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Delicious! Made exactly as stated, the only I would do differently is to cook the bacon halfway through before wrapping the chicken, the chicken was done and the bacon wasnt - otherwise - delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele McCormick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
The only reason I didn't give this five stars was simply because evidently I'm not a fan of gargonzola. Its such a strong cheese. I did like others and sauteed the garlic and shallots in butter. I also broiled it at the last minute for 5mins to crisp the bacon. I will make again, but will probably try a different cheese. I will say this. You do not need extra salt in the mixture because the bacon lends plenty of its own. My boyfriend loved it as it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Uher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hopkinsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
This is an excellent recipe. I followed the recipe very closely, except I sauteed the garlic in butter. The cheese is very rich, and combined with bacon creates a delicious flavor. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
This was outstanding! I'm a bit confused by the comments about the chicken being dry. Mine was VERY moist and juicy. Even my husband couldn't believe how juicy the meat was. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BroncosFan
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Hard for me to wrap and keep wrapped. Much better to place bacon & cheese on top, like other reviewers suggested. Very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raine07

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
My husband LOVED this, although I thought the chicken was a bit dry. The second time I made it, I sliced the chicken thinner before adding the filling, and reduced the cooking time. Like other reviewers, I also fried the bacon in a skillet after baking to get it a bit crunchier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
A favorite in my house! I omit the shallots (personal preference) and use a little more garlic than the recipe calls for. It's a little messy to stuff and wrap the chicken, but definitely worth it! I bake for 35 minutes at 375, then broil for another 5-10 to crisp the bacon and brown everything up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Extremely salty...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Porto, Porto, Portugal
Living In: Sanford, Maine, USA
Photo by amysrecipes
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
The first time I tried this recipe, the chicken was a bit too dry. I found a Rachel Ray recipe that was similar, but called for a pan sear of about 3 mins on each side, then 10mins in the oven at 375 degrees - better! I also made a gravy in case the chicken turned out to be dry again. I melted 1 tbs butter in the pan with the drippings over medium heat. Then whisked in 1 tbs flour and let cook for a minute. Whisk in 1/2 cup chicken stock and let thicken for another minute. Then add 1/4 cup half and half (or cream) and 1 tbs grain mustard - season with salt and pepper. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Bacon Ranch Chicken Skewers

See how to make extra-easy and delicious barbequed chicken kabobs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States