Gorgonzola Stuffed Chicken Breasts Wrapped in Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Definately OK and a nice change of pace. Seemed a tad too salty and should have taken other's ideas to add another cheese to the Gorgonzola. Loved the idea of bacon-wrapped! Might try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I really liked this recipe! It's super easy and has good flavor. I used Feta instead of gorgonzola; I gave it a 4 because not everyone in my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katie802

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Made this last night using thighs. De-boned the skinless meat, flattened the meat, and then continued with the recipe. It was great. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Great recipe! Husband and 2 boys really enjoyed itq. Simplee to make but looks difficult. Followed recommendation to sauté shallot and garlic and the Marsala for sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
To me this is a great fundamental recipe with a lot of potential. As some posted, it can be slightly dry and lack some seasoning, the gorgonzola can indeed overpower. Here are some change I made and served last night. The best pan would be a cast iron skillet but any oven safe 9" in pan would do. 1. Cut the Chicken Breast in half to make smaller portions, then cut the pocket (like you would Pita Bread) and fill. 2. For the filling, add some Feta Cheese to the Gorgonzola (about half and half) to mellow out the flavors, along with a tablespoon of Olive Oil. 3. Season the chicken breasts with a combination of Paprika, Salt, Pepper, Garlic Powder and Thyme. Drizzle each piece with Olive Oil. 4. Wrap with the lightly cooked bacon and refrigerate for 1 hour or so. 5. Combine 1 can Creamof Mushroom soup with 1/2 can chicken stock- set aside. 6. After removing the pan from the refrigerator, place the pan on medium high heat for about 2 minutes (to bring it up to temp) then move to the oven and bake as the recipe says, 375 degrees for approx. 30 minutes. 7. After cooking for 20 minutes, baste each with the pan juices then pour the soup mixture over the top of each piece. 8. Continue to cook until thermometer registers about 160 degrees, remove and cover. Let stand for 5 minutes. The residual heat will finish the dish. By the way... cooking Charts are on the high side. 165 is OK Serve over rice or Garlic Mashed potatoes. Garnish with Parsley + splash or fresh Lemon Juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef Bill

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I thought this was very good, and easy. I did not have fresh parsley and used dried. I suggest using fresh parsley as the dry gives it a more "spinachy" taste. I used a vidalia onion as I did not have shallots, and actually added some small apple chunks. I sauteed the onions, garlic and apples a bit before mixing with the cheese. I did put it under the broiler for a few minutes after the chicken had cooked. I think next time I will cook the bacon slightly before wrapping the chicken. I also used three slices of bacon on each breast as they were big breasts. All in all, my husband and I really liked this and will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINGIN523

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
my husband insists on split chicken breast, bone in w/ skin. slit the thickest part of chicken breast and stuffed with Gorgonzola mixture. baked for longer at 350 degrees until juices ran clear. flipped chicken twice and place under broiler the last five minutes to crisp up bacon. delicious, my husband loved it. used four slices of bacon to cover the pieces. used drippings and added some sweet Marsala to make a sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Very good made just like the recipe no changes very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I'm drooling over this gorgonzola stuffed chichen!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marucitabonita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chihuahua, Chihuahua, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Do precook the bacon to about half-done (still flexible) before wrapping chicken, or wrap with bacon, sear in pan, and finish on cookie sheet. Do pre-saute the aromatics.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ItalianFoodie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aliquippa, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Bacon Ranch Chicken Skewers

See how to make extra-easy and delicious barbequed chicken kabobs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States